Positivity Challenge #3 10/10/2016

in #positivity8 years ago (edited)

Hi all!

Today on @lifeisawesome I wrote about giving without want of return:

https://steemit.com/life/@lifeisawesome/the-power-of-giving-without-want-of-return

So your challenge until next week is to pick something charitable and do it. Come back here and tell us about it. Please remember that resteems this week will be explicitly for those that have done the task at hand and written about it - or taken pictures of their activities.

Please don't think these need to be grand gestures of humanity. All I'm looking for is a simple charitable act without want of return. Sit down and talk to a homeless person on the street - brighten up their day. Volunteer at a local shelter, or donate some unused clothing to charity. The choice is unlimited, and ultimately yours. All I ask in return is that you tell us about it!!

Please also be aware that stories from an earlier time won't be accepted, these need to be from this week!

Have fun with this one :)

Yesterdays chart topping winners!

Thank you, thank you all again for taking part. Your entries were quite amazing today, and one of those posts had me shedding a tear. I'll let you guess which one:

https://steemit.com/positivity/@rubellitefae/inspiration-from-my-favourite-neighbour-mr-rogers

https://steemit.com/positivity/@kiwideb/creating-a-day-that-made-me-happy-attending-the-wow-wearable-arts-awards

https://steemit.com/curation/@shadowspub/oct-9-steemit-ramble-notes-on-my-favourite-reads

https://steemit.com/life/@joewantsfreedom/suffering-is-great-why-homelessness-stoicism-and-minimalism-keeps-me-happy-and-steady-as-a-rock

https://steemit.com/story/@ghostwriter/the-ancient-of-dunaya-chapter-2-dress

https://steemit.com/steemit/@pcste/a-minnows-personal-milestone-1000-steem-power-reached

https://steemit.com/addiction/@dajohns1420/the-guilt-of-a-junkie

Last weeks challenge was quite an open one. Such great content, and a lot of you were trying really, really hard. Well done!

As for now, it's off to bed, and I'll see all of you tomorrow!

Be well.

@positivity


Sort:  


Hi @positivity, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads today and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Ooh this is PERFECT for me!
Thank you for inspiring more positivity!

I love this challenge. Living everyday in service to the betterment of humanity gives rise to so many opportunities to help others. What a great positive spin and a reminder that being a part of something way bigger than ourselves is so rewarding. Thanks for bringing on the goodness. Upvoted, followed and resteemed.

Awesome - thank you kindly :)

Oh yay, this is really great--giving and helping others are some of my favorite things!!! Thank you @positivity for the great encouragement for this community to focus on GOOD!

Ha! While out walking earlier today I wondered what this weeks challenge would be. I decided Random Acts of Kindness would be good. Then got back and found this.

Ah, really great. Perhaps next time you can come on steemit chat and give us a suggestion for the following week? All of your input is greatly received!

I'm kind of home-bound this week, but can I write about something my husband is doing? It's kind of the reason I'm home-bound.

Yes! That will be acceptable too :)

Thank you for including me in the post :). I really put a lot of effort into that article on Stoicism and Homelessness.

So having something so lightweight this week is really nice.
I am in a foreign country where there is some language barrier so it will be interesting. For whatever reason, I find it easier to just randomly help people when I speak the language so I was doing it slightly less here. But now that I've been challenged ... Here we go

@positivity Another unrelated thing, I was thinking of creating a Script the other day, maaaybe a website, where you can paste all the links you want to add to your articles and it would spit out the Markdown for it.
So for example if you used my link as an example.

Instead of
https://steemit.com/life/@joewantsfreedom/suffering-is-great-why-homelessness-stoicism-and-minimalism-keeps-me-happy-and-steady-as-a-rock

It would spit out something like
Suffering Is Great - Why Homelessness Stoicism and Minimalism Keeps Me Happy and Steady as a Rock --- by @joewantsfreedom

Would you be interested in something like that? If so, what OS are you running? I might just make it into a web app (though I am horrible at making those) so other people can use it too.

I'd love that. And with your offer of help you've just smashed this weeks competition - if it's an example you're prepared to give then write it up!!

I've always thought these updates could do with a bit of careful formatting. I think I'll strive to do that :)

@positivity so here is the first version of the curation helper
Let me know any feedback.

Just paste links one per line and you get a nice output down.
You'll have to scroll to see it.
I think it;s really ugly and not user friendly right now so I'll change it later on hopefully.

And I think I'll write it up as part of this challenge, with a bit of a twist on it.
But that doesn't mean I can relax and not help any other random person ...

Hope it helps :)

I just posted my submission. Hope it's okay to put the link here? If not, let me know and I'll delete :)
Pack for 10 Days - Hurricane Matthew Aftermath

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44