Oct 10 - Steemit Ramble - Notes on My Favourite Reads

in #curation8 years ago

Well, the days of leaving my windows open and heat off just came to an abrupt end last night. It has cooled considerably. I closed the windows and turned on a bit of heat last night and then turned off before I went to bed. The house was a brisk 59F when I got up this morning. Heat is back on.

I’ve been receiving some really nice input on the Steemit Ramble. Thank you. It’s always nice to know what you’re doing is appreciated.

I wrote a post today about the background of Thanksgiving in Canada. You may find it of interest to have a read of it.

Onward to today’s rambling

Save the bees with Fungi

I’m not real big on science posts but the fate of bees around the world is a very important issue. Most people don’t realize that without those humble creatures, much of our food supply will not be able to grow and feeding the world becomes harder.

@kylehenry writes a good post on this topic. It will take political action to put a stop to the killing of the bees. It means standing up to pesticide firms like Monsanto and stopping their destruction of our environment.

The marketers guide to knowing what to write and how much to write.The marketers guide to knowing what to write and how much to write.

@lifeisawesome writes what he feels about what to write and how much. Anyone who is new to writing struggles with this question. By telling his own story he sets an example of writing what you can talk well about. Don’t try to be Einstein, just be you. Write as much as you need to share the message you want to share. This isn’t school where a teacher is going to tell us to write X number of words.

The Mean Old Lady On The Porch - a poem by @ericvancewalton

This is a really interesting post. Not just because it’s a poem, a sketch and some commentary but it is a collaboration between two Steemians, @ericvancewalton and @fairytalelife. Their collaboration is in support of the Curie Project which works to bring lesser known authors notice and support.

What's a Steem Witness and Why Should we Care

@sykochica writes an interesting piece on the Steem witnesses. She lays out what their job involves and their importance to the Steemit site. Very detailed and should be read carefully by all of us to understand the concept and then to use our votes.

Vote Interest Pool - VIP Feature: @shadowspub

This was a cool surprise for me today. @voteinterestpool was very kind and featured me today in his post. Thank you @voteinterestpool. He has an interesting project underway there and would be good to support and help as much as possible.

Rock the Witness Vote! Together Our Voice Matters!

I seem to be on a bit of a witness theme today. This post also talks about what witnesses do and also tells us what some of the witness candidates do to earn their votes. @radioactivities offers to include other witnesses not mentioned in the post, hope some take up the offer.

How to Convince Writers to Join Steemit

@decimus explores how to convince writers to come to Steemit. The site needs content creators yet, understanding what they are being offered is not easy.

Steemit Development Timeline - Why "Coming Soon" might not seem very soon

@timcliff writes a periodic post on what is happening in the development of Steemit. He sometimes refers to features as ‘coming soon’ which brings the question of what is ‘soon’? Today he writes a post describing the process that each feature goes through before it can become active. Interesting reading.

Featuring Fyrstikken: Get to Know Your Witness!

Back onto the witness theme again. I met Fyrstikken yesterday when I showed up on SteemSpeak. He was very welcoming, along with some others. Now, by reading @sykochica’s post about him, I know more about this person who wishes to be a witness.

Positivity Challenge #3 10/10/2016

Well just as I was ready to call it a day, this post appeared on my feed. It’s this week’s Positivity Challenge. Have a look and take a stab at doing this week’s challenge.

Wrap-up on Day 33

Well, it’s been an interesting holiday for me today. I am about to post this post making it two posts in one day. In between I did some personal work and covered a volunteer bar shift. I was delighted to get support from @voteinterestpool and from the SteemPrentice people.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

Nice to see a lot the posts I voted for one here:)

awesome that we have such great taste eh :)

The witness theme is good! I remember when I got here I didnt think witnesses did anything but mine. and I really wouldnt have known otherwise if I didnt look for the info.

they really do have a lot of responsibility that most of us don't realize. I think they need to be pretty dedicated to take the job on

voting for witness shows that we at least give a shit, about something more than our upvotes, even if the votes for witness are tallied the same as upvotes

It took me a while to even realize that the witness had some sort of function even if I didn't know what it was. The big challenge is education new people. It can be a lot to take in.

A lot the the issues are addressed in the whitepaper with good theoretical detail

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56792.41
ETH 2444.34
BNB 487.19
SBD 2.39