I got that positive feeling.

in #positivity8 years ago (edited)

I have been doing Mindfulness Meditation for a week, each day I have managed to fit in 10 minutes alone where I can focus on myself. Yesterday I had a big problem as we needed to do shopping plus I went and had my hair done again which made me feel better but couldn't fit it any meditation as everywhere I went there was a lot of people and noise, that's until we went to Wickes to price the paint I wanted. They didn't have what I needed but next door to Wickes is a large Pets at Home, we are a family of animal lovers so every time we are passing my daughter and hubby have to pop in, I wasn't feeling too good plus my knee was really hurting so I took the keys and sat in the car. I knew they wouldn't hurry so new I had a good 20 minutes alone.

postimage

Here's me sitting in a locked car parked in a busy car park trying to do my Mindfulness meditation, I first focused on the trees as it was windy, the branches were blowing around, I thought they would help me relax but couldn't quite focus on it as it was too active, so I closed my eyes and concentrated on my breathing, I pushed the cars parked next to me out of mind and listened to the wind, it took me a while to settle but for the first time since I have started trying this my mind was empty for a few seconds, I managed to let the thoughts come and go, it didn't last long, the feeling was brilliant, I felt free and light just for a short while. I didn't make a big deal about it I went back to concentrating to my breathing, I didn't manage to do it again but by the time my hubby and daughter came back I was relaxed and felt really good.

I have tried again today sitting in the sitting room relaxing on my recliner but never managed to do as well as I did, feeling a bit more positive about being able to do this, Its not out of reach I can and will reach that free and light feeling again. I am just a beginner but now have something to aim for. There's no hurry, I will get there :)

Hi I am Karen, I am here to write about my life and read about yours.. If you like what you read please upvote and leave me a message so I can come visit youfollow me on Twitter
Sort:  

It can be really hard to focus on things like this sometimes, but it is so important to re-tune our minds again!

I am finding it hard, my mind never stops but I will continue to give it a good go :)

Glad you are making some progress. I find that even little mindfulness bursts of a minute or two at a time when stressed can help.

Them few seconds it worked it really did help, I think its going to take a while before I get anything better, will keep going and be happy if I can get a few seconds now and again, it def helps :)

Thank you for inspiring me. I really need to do this by myself. It is easier at yoga when the instructor helps you. I think we are not meant to empty our minds, but rather observe the thoughts dispassionately abd ket them go.

I am trying to slow them down first then let them go. I am enjoying the experience. Let me know how you go :)

Awesome Karen, I'm noticing you are inspiring others with your journey too! This is great. Just remember, this mindfulness thing, it's a long, beautiful journey! So enjoy the ride and never get caught up in the fact that it's taking a long time.

10 years on and I'm still learning! :)

I'm not expecting a quick fix, I know my brain and how busy it is is going to take a while but I'm sticking with it as read loads of good results. I've wasted to much of my life being negative its time to change :)

Finding that focus and concentrating on your breathing can be very difficult at times - but you did it! and you can do it again. I believe the trick is to just relax and take each day as if it's new. Don't fall into the pressure of saying you did it once so the next time should be easier. Sometimes it's not! LOL Isn't that a kicker???

Yeah do very true, might never do it again but its worth the 10 minutes free time trying :)

I'm inspired to try this myself. Resteeming as Project Positivity.

Give it a go. It's helping me, everyone deserves some free time. Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.08
ETH 2628.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46