Positive Reflections: 7 Ways Towards Loving Yourself More

in #popcontest6 years ago


Image Source

In my previous post, I have written why we need to practice self-love. In this post, I will discuss how this can be done. Here are 7 ways how you can love yourself more.

1. Learn To Accept And Love Yourself Just The Way You Are

The more you are comfortable in your own skin, the more you will be able to love yourself. Accept the fact that nobody is perfect and that includes you. Therefore accept and love yourself just the way you are with both your strengths and weaknesses. Look into the mirror, and admire that wonderful face. List out your strengths and work on your weaknesses.

2. Prioritize Time For Self-Care

If your body suffered a cut, you would tend to it immediately to stop the bleeding. However you more likely to be slow in tending to any emotional or psychological wounds that you suffer. Therefore, you must remember to schedule time for emotional healing as well as to engage in activities that make you feel good about yourself. This can be an extra 10 minutes in the morning, to dress well so that you feel good and confident about yourself. For me, I like to listen to motivational talks while I am driving.

3. Be Mindful Of Your Thoughts, Choices And Actions

You talk to yourself all the time in your mind. If you have negative thoughts like “I am not enough” or “I am not able to do it”, shake them lose and let them go. Replace these negative with positive thoughts. To help you going, prepare a list of affirmations that you can read to yourself and or listen to a recording of affirmations.

Thoughts will influence your choices which in turn will influence your actions. If you are mindful of your thoughts, then you are less likely to engage in choices and actions that will harm yourself and others.


Image Source

4. Choose The Company That You Keep

Life is tough enough without being put down by those around you. Negative people can drain you of both your time and energy. You must also never let anyone’s opinion erode your self-esteem. Therefore you need to choose your friends carefully, friends that care for you and are supportive. Remember that it is okay to say no at times to your friends and do not feel compelled to please those around you. True friends will take time to understand you and not judge you.

5. Forgive Yourself

You are only humans and sometimes you make mistakes. Remember this saying “To Err Is Human, To Forgive Is Divine”. Therefore when you make mistakes or fail, do not beat yourself up and be too hard on yourself. At times, you tend to be your own worst enemy. Show yourself self-compassion, and treat yourself the same way as you would treat your best friend. Look at any mistakes or failures as learning opportunities and move on. Remember that you can take responsibility for yourself without the need to blame yourself.

6. Give Yourself Credit

You need to allow yourself to feel good about your achievements no matter how small or minor they are. Even if others do not appreciate your actions, learn to appreciate them yourself and tap yourself on your shoulder. When I manage to write a post even though I don’t feel like it, I always give myself a tap on my shoulder and say to myself “Good Work”. By doing this, somehow it becomes easier for me to write the next post and in return my self-esteem is boosted.

7. Differentiate Between Your Needs And Your Wants

Your needs are things which are necessary for survival while your wants are things that you desire or things you would like to have but which maybe unnecessary. Remember that needs and wants are not interchangeable and if you concentrate on meeting your wants only, there is a tendency for you to want more and more. Instead you should strive to meet your needs. When your needs are met, you feel more complete, more confident and is in a position to give from a place of abundance rather than to sacrifice from a place of scarcity.

Remember that as with everything else, balance is the key. Please share your ideas on how to love yourself in the comments section. Until I see you again, do take care and remember to love yourself.


Follow me and stay positive.

Do check out my previous posts.

Do You Love Yourself? Do You Show Yourself Enough Self-Love?
Escape To St Kidla, Melbourne For An Afternoon Of Fun
Wisdom From My Autistic Son: My Autistic Son ‘s Behavior Maybe Embarassing But I Am Not Ashamed Of Him
Positive Reflections: Don’t Let Your Post Defeat You But Let Your Past Defined You
Are You Searching? (An Original Poem)

Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

Sort:  

Desperately want something like this.. My life is going on very difficulties ...forgot how to live .. So its very much need for me.. Thank you for share like this .. share more like this..😥😥😥

I am glad that this post is able to help you. Hang in there, the difficulties are only temporary. I hope that the post below about my difficult post can help you also.
Positive Reflections: Don’t Let Your Post Defeat You But Let Your Past Defined You

Apart from your claim that I am not perfect, I like this post a lot. "... you must remember to schedule time for emotional healing" is especially noteworthy, since most people neglect emotional damage.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel.gif

The fact that you actually read this amazes me. Here ... have a vote. (Who are you and what you have done with The Real Weasel?

I'm looking for him, golf course to golf course.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel.gif

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 36.36 % upvote from @bellyrub. Please make sure to vote for my pops as a witness @zeartul,Here

Another great post @positivesteem - thanks for sharing

Thanks for your support and comments.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

I need to print this content and attach it in front of me, so I can read it when I have a bad mood! ^_^

I am flattered. I am happy that you find it that useful.

So beautifull post you today.
And your message is very great message.

Thank you so much

Hi @positivesteem,
I love how your post resonates with the truth, a truth sometimes lost in our pursuit of happiness. What can be a short journey home within, can turn out to be a life long journey out which can result in feeling lost and wanting. Awesome stuff mate. Signing out with a follow. Cheers

Hi @colemanchin great to see that Team Malaysia is growing. Thank you so much for your well-thought out comments. I am following you too.

Loving yourself is indeed this easy, it sucks that some still do not want to do this for their own good :(

It is easy if we know how and put in the time and effort. At times we just get so caught up in life.

Thank you so much @positivesteem for sharing this awesome positive post in my #popcontest with all of us ! Upped and resteemed !👍👍👍😃

You are most welcome my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77