My Story and Page Overview

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

Hello all!

My name is Brandon and I am a Bowling Green State University graduate. My degree was in international communication with a Russian language and business minor. During my studies at BGSU I was privileged enough to go on a study abroad program where I studied in St. Petersburg and Moscow. I have been studying Russian language and culture for about seven years and would like to expand my understanding of cultural views around the world. I am excited to join Steemit and would like to introduce you to the content that I will be posting.

This page will focus on current event Russian language news articles(which have no current English translations), that I will be translating into English, Russian culture posts, Russian history posts, and questions following posts to stimulate conversation. This page will also include articles that parallel the Russian articles chosen, but written by Western media outlets. The purpose of this page is to shine a light onto cultural views and sentiments from both sides to compare and analyze why and where point-of-views are aligned and divided.

Being born and raised in America, I may post some things that seem to be more bias towards western views, if this is done I apologize in advance. Being raised in a culture can produce beliefs that are normal to you, but taboo to others and these beliefs can be overlooked. The purpose of this page is to be as neutral as possible and to promote the conversational dialogue between different perspectives.

Thank you for reading, and I look forward to providing compelling content to stimulate the thought and growth of myself and others!

Current 2018 FIFA World Cup Project: I will be creating a proposal for people trying to travel to Russia for the World Cup and would like to hire a translator and guide to help navigate around the cities, talk to people, and make the most of their time in Russia. Let me know if you are interested and continue to check in for updates on the project.!

postimage

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @theharveyshot :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Welcome to Steem @theharveyshot I have sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit @theharveyshot!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here!
Unfortunately, I can not make an upvote of your record - my steem power is still small. But in the future I will come back and do it. If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me.
Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and I hope you will follow me.
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

ayyyyy I am sure there is a big soccer/football community on here that would love to go the World Cup. Maybe even start a contest to get some people there with you.
looking forward to your content buddy o weeeee

Welcome man! Sound like you have a lot to offer. I don't care if opinion is biasted towards west as long as it's honest . Everyone should stand by what they believe in

Welcome aboard, Brandon! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Hey Brandon! I look forward to reading your posts. Welcome to the Steemit community!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66304.75
ETH 3568.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59