An Australian in Mexico - Why I moved to the third world

in #politics8 years ago (edited)

Australia is supposed to be one of the most liveable countries in the world. Why would someone choose to leave and live in a developing country?

Image of Yaktocat

I've been living in Mexico for two years now. People often ask me why I would leave such a beautiful, peaceful country like Australia to come to Mexico. The answer always depends who I'm talking to, and my mood at the time, but I often find myself saying "This is going to sound very odd," and proceed to tell them that political risk is a major factor. This sounds especially strange to my students living in Russia, who are trying to get into Australia for a very similar reason.

The thing about Australians is, they can be very docile. A nation which (by certain measures at least) is only a few generations old, and has never seen war on their own turf, has never had a revolution, and has never had to really fight for anything much. Some people chalk the Australian "government knows best" way of thinking up to the previous generations of convicts from whom many Australians are descended. There is a strong culture of anti-authoritarianism among Australians, in their words. But when it comes to civil disobedience, it's all but non-existent. If the government were to go from bad to worse in Australia, I'm not sure how well the people would be able to fend for themselves.

In Mexico, things are by no means perfect, and there are several problems. For example, government corruption, drug wars fueled by the US government in one way or another, a high rate of crime in certain parts of the country... however, there are also certain advantages.

Markets, in many ways, are still relatively free in Mexico. A corrupt government leads to a population where the people aren't very shy about breaking the law, and they will start businesses even without a licence. Sometimes I hear about "food deserts" in the United States, where people have to travel for miles to find a grocery store that sells fresh produce. That's unthinkable in Mexico - there are at least three corner stores within three blocks from my house, which sell produce, in addition to fruit and vegetable shops, and in addition to the neighbourhood market, with its five or ten produce stalls, chicken stalls, butchers, creameries and breakfast stands.

People don't show any undue respect to authority in Mexico. They're willing to bribe police if necessary, and police are willing to accept bribes. That makes the rule of government law much more decentralised, and if the president or some other ambitious politician were to make a broad-sweeping decree, it would have much less effect than in Australia, because everyone knows that every link in the chain of command can be broken. Police can also be wary of stepping out of line, because, especially in regional parts of Mexico, the people aren't beyond finding their own ways to get justice.

Australia is a beautiful country, very comfortable, clean, with down-to-earth people. However, in a crisis situation, which seems might come this year, or in the following years, I have no idea how Australians would fare, and I think many would panic and break down, and possibly starve, as the majority of people obtain their food from two certain large supermarket chains. In comparison, the Mexican economy is decentralised in the supply of food, and decentralised in some ways in its justice system, and the people are robust and resourceful. Yes, Mexico, though not without its generous share of wonders, can be dirty, even a little scary, but the threats are generally nothing like what the media might have you believe, and in a crisis, I am certain that the Mexican people will weather the storm with Mexican resourcefulness and warm smiles.

Sort:  

I really appreciate because you are a courageous man.

Just joined today and came across your post. Thoroughly enjoyed it, especially your description of Oz society. Curious, have you ever written a post on Mexican media and their position on or response to corruption? Would make interesting reading.

Anyway, look forward to reading more of your work. (Melbournian living in Japan since 2001)

Thanks. I've never written about it, but it's kind of difficult, because it's all a bit invisible. Being a journalist is reputedly the most dangerous job you can have in Mexico, so the journalists generally stay away from the most touchy subjects. I had a lead once where a friend was going to tell me about how the cartels operate, and an ex journalist friend advised me to be very careful, as that's the kind of thing that can get you killed. So it's tough.

Greetings from Thailand!

No worries. I'm sure you've got plenty of other tales up your sleeve. Looking forward to read more.

I can perfectly see why you moved and i'd say you've done well. In Mexico with a bit of resources you could make bussiness without worrying about too much, such countries are almost always good place to grow as a bussiness or to just live there since it's probably cheaper than Australia in any way.
And yes it makes sense, people in a country with less resources have usually better improvisations to problems that 1st world people may not count on, as you said hunger is not so usual here, without a store people is lost. Countries should start to become auto-sustainable for an global currency to take over and eventually globalization.

Thanks Andu. Yes, the low cost of living certainly makes it attractive. From a business perspective, Mexico is very interesting, because almost everybody has a bit of business nous to open a stall and start hollering at people to come and try their product... But few business owners have an idea about things like branding, or customer service - beyond what they know intuitively. That is to say, they will almost always be friendly and welcoming, but they will keep you waiting ten minutes for the bill while they're chatting. So, sometimes I think if someone came in with well-organised staff they could make a killing here.

A nation which (by certain measures at least) is only a few generations old, and has never seen war on their own turf, has never had a revolution, and has never had to really fight for anything much.

Yeah right, tell that to the Aborigines.

Interesting views on corruption, I can see why you have a misty-eyed view of it, coming from somewhere like Australia. However I think if you were to witness it at ALL levels, not just at a local one, you may just get sick to your stomach.

CG

Yes, that's why I said by certain measures.

The thing is, both the Australian and Mexican governments both have awful treatment of indigenous peoples, and both governments are corrupt. However, certain Mexican government officials are corrupt in ways which sometimes benefits the people. That doesn't mean it's necessarily a good thing, but it does mean that sometimes it's practical when compared to the alternatives.

I just wrote a short essay from my perspective. I didn't analyse every element of life in Australia compared to life in Mexico, and every level of government, as that's really not what I set out to do.

Mexican government have an awful treatment to indigenous people? Maybe poor? Its just that sounds strange, mexicans are mexicans, indians don't really exist anymore.

You think so? There are still many people who speak Nahuatl natively, among other languages, and I'm sure you can find people who identify as Maya and other races. I have heard a little about the history of the Mexican government killing Mayas. And there there are the Zapatistas and other problems in Chiapas... I'm not extremely well-informed on the matter, but I think there is a little more to it.

Hmm this is very interesting for me, i had no idea, i must admit that since i spent most of my life in spain (meh im 20) i have prolly a different perspective of mexico.

Have you stayed in one place in Mexico, or have you tended to move around a bit?

Most of the time I spent in Guadalajara

I am from Mexico and I have never seen the situation of this country from your point of view. It certainly seems an interesting idea and after living in Sydney for 1 year I agree with you on several points.

It's interesting when i meet people from Latin America who move to Australia or another developed country... Some say they never want to go back to Latam and others say they would never stay in Aus permanently. I might never understand the psychology behind it completely, but it raises a lot of fascinating questions

Good read. Thats why I love steemit. Only thing that striked me as strange is how someone with that of an open mind still thinks its okay to classify countries by grade. "Third world country" is a very derogatory term for a country you seem to respect. Just a healthy comment :)

Hmm. I normally don't use the term, because I consider it inaccurate, but I'm not sure how it's derogatory. Maybe you can tell me how it is.

Generally I use the term "developing nation". In this case, I think I wrote "Third World" because it's meant to be ironic - people see it as undesirable but I find it amazing. Maybe that's what you meant when you said it's derogatory.

Anyway, I'm not likely to use the term again soon.

Thanks for your comment

Looking into moving my family to Mexico too and came across this entry. As I was reading this, I found myself laughing as how on point it was specially to 2020 current events down in Victoria. And that's the main point of why I want to move. I don't want to raise my kid in a country where the population just accepts government rules and carries on like sheep to a point where any free thinkers are looked down as the enemy and almost terrorist. Agree Australia is a beautiful country but unfortunately their true colors have shown under pressured times and it's not the free country I thought it was all along. Will be doing more research on Mexico but so far all on point as you've said and really looking forward to it. Thanks.

Hey @ricardoa, sorry I missed this when you commented.

Yes, I remember having the same realisation around 2012... I talked to protestors at Occupy Melbourne and they said how the police had "kettled" them, stolen their musical instruments and broken them, thrown the instruments in garbage bags with horse poop on top. Soon afterward the Victorian government introduced a "move on" law which to me sounded very much like an anti protest law. Around that time I started to consider quitting the country quite seriously

I recommend Pimsleur or Michel Thomas audio courses to start learning Spanish. That definitely makes things easier. You don't need a visa to enter Mexico, but generally it makes it easier if you get one in Australia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63713.30
ETH 3389.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62