You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Australian in Mexico - Why I moved to the third world

in #politics4 years ago

Looking into moving my family to Mexico too and came across this entry. As I was reading this, I found myself laughing as how on point it was specially to 2020 current events down in Victoria. And that's the main point of why I want to move. I don't want to raise my kid in a country where the population just accepts government rules and carries on like sheep to a point where any free thinkers are looked down as the enemy and almost terrorist. Agree Australia is a beautiful country but unfortunately their true colors have shown under pressured times and it's not the free country I thought it was all along. Will be doing more research on Mexico but so far all on point as you've said and really looking forward to it. Thanks.

Sort:  

Hey @ricardoa, sorry I missed this when you commented.

Yes, I remember having the same realisation around 2012... I talked to protestors at Occupy Melbourne and they said how the police had "kettled" them, stolen their musical instruments and broken them, thrown the instruments in garbage bags with horse poop on top. Soon afterward the Victorian government introduced a "move on" law which to me sounded very much like an anti protest law. Around that time I started to consider quitting the country quite seriously

I recommend Pimsleur or Michel Thomas audio courses to start learning Spanish. That definitely makes things easier. You don't need a visa to enter Mexico, but generally it makes it easier if you get one in Australia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64081.52
ETH 3398.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62