You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Australian in Mexico - Why I moved to the third world

in #politics7 years ago

Just joined today and came across your post. Thoroughly enjoyed it, especially your description of Oz society. Curious, have you ever written a post on Mexican media and their position on or response to corruption? Would make interesting reading.

Anyway, look forward to reading more of your work. (Melbournian living in Japan since 2001)

Sort:  

Thanks. I've never written about it, but it's kind of difficult, because it's all a bit invisible. Being a journalist is reputedly the most dangerous job you can have in Mexico, so the journalists generally stay away from the most touchy subjects. I had a lead once where a friend was going to tell me about how the cartels operate, and an ex journalist friend advised me to be very careful, as that's the kind of thing that can get you killed. So it's tough.

Greetings from Thailand!

No worries. I'm sure you've got plenty of other tales up your sleeve. Looking forward to read more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64081.52
ETH 3398.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62