You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Australian in Mexico - Why I moved to the third world

in #politics6 years ago

Good read. Thats why I love steemit. Only thing that striked me as strange is how someone with that of an open mind still thinks its okay to classify countries by grade. "Third world country" is a very derogatory term for a country you seem to respect. Just a healthy comment :)

Sort:  

Hmm. I normally don't use the term, because I consider it inaccurate, but I'm not sure how it's derogatory. Maybe you can tell me how it is.

Generally I use the term "developing nation". In this case, I think I wrote "Third World" because it's meant to be ironic - people see it as undesirable but I find it amazing. Maybe that's what you meant when you said it's derogatory.

Anyway, I'm not likely to use the term again soon.

Thanks for your comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64081.52
ETH 3398.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62