You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Australian in Mexico - Why I moved to the third world

in #politics8 years ago

A nation which (by certain measures at least) is only a few generations old, and has never seen war on their own turf, has never had a revolution, and has never had to really fight for anything much.

Yeah right, tell that to the Aborigines.

Interesting views on corruption, I can see why you have a misty-eyed view of it, coming from somewhere like Australia. However I think if you were to witness it at ALL levels, not just at a local one, you may just get sick to your stomach.

CG

Sort:  

Yes, that's why I said by certain measures.

The thing is, both the Australian and Mexican governments both have awful treatment of indigenous peoples, and both governments are corrupt. However, certain Mexican government officials are corrupt in ways which sometimes benefits the people. That doesn't mean it's necessarily a good thing, but it does mean that sometimes it's practical when compared to the alternatives.

I just wrote a short essay from my perspective. I didn't analyse every element of life in Australia compared to life in Mexico, and every level of government, as that's really not what I set out to do.

Mexican government have an awful treatment to indigenous people? Maybe poor? Its just that sounds strange, mexicans are mexicans, indians don't really exist anymore.

You think so? There are still many people who speak Nahuatl natively, among other languages, and I'm sure you can find people who identify as Maya and other races. I have heard a little about the history of the Mexican government killing Mayas. And there there are the Zapatistas and other problems in Chiapas... I'm not extremely well-informed on the matter, but I think there is a little more to it.

Hmm this is very interesting for me, i had no idea, i must admit that since i spent most of my life in spain (meh im 20) i have prolly a different perspective of mexico.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64010.25
ETH 3401.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62