SPU Poetry Contest #1: My Little Mundane Life

in #poetsunited6 years ago

Eyes fixed on the horizon squinting to see
This yearning within
A dozen flames that never burned out
A thousand lives unfinished
A void like no other
I stand on the horizon of my mind, searching
Vague images plague my senses...
A dream? a vision? a life unremembered?
What is in my heart...a void like no other
On this watery edge of reality
Loose and unreal...a mirage?
Yet never once an illusion
My memories are buried, almost lost
Standing tall and watching the sky
The birds chirp, the wind blow
I come to realize how little man knows
Of this depth, this vastness, and this truth
Who was I eons ago? Life tumbles on like waves of a mighty river
Amid its entire roar, a silent wish echoes
That I could escape my little mundane life.

https://steemit.com/poetry/@lymepoet/lost-poem

604338512.jpg

(Photo source: https://www.istockphoto.com/photos/empty-room?excludenudity=true&sort=mostpopular&mediatype=photography&phrase=empty%20room)

Sort:  

You just reminded me of what I was trying to run away from.... a mundane life.... Great piece

Your entry has been approved

Thank you!

Life tumbles on like waves of a mighty river
Amid its entire roar, a silent wish echoes

This was great, contrasting imagery. Life can feel so 'noisy', and we seek stillness, quite. There is a lot of depth to this - I like it!

there is really so much to life than we can comprehend. Thank you

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 5X upvote! I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar! I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

Requested by @jenyfa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40