Poetry Dice Challenge 3000 - Week 18 - Roll!

in #poetrydice6 years ago (edited)

week18_pdc3k_re.jpg

week18_notatomic_re.jpg

Join the Challenge!

Hosted by @robyneggs and @rensoul17, this unique poetry challenge will guide, yet free your writer's hand - allowing you to create a wonderful poem that means something.

Contest Background

Originally started almost a year ago, the poetry dice challenge has inspired many wonderful poems. Just search #poetrydice to find a unique read, every day. Go on many magical adventures, as the turn of the dice varies from week to week. You can even enter the contest, if you like, by following the official rules (below). This week's theme is "HOLIDAY".

Rules

  1. Create a poem using the 9 images on the dice (above).
  2. All 9 images on the dice must be referenced at least once, each, in the poem. [Images are interpreted loosely. How you interpret (or assign the image meaning) is up to you and will not count against you.]
  3. Make a post from your poem and use “poetrydice,” as your first tag.
  4. Label your entry clearly. Include "Poetry Dice Entry:" in your title, so I know it's official.
  5. Drop a link to your post in the comments section (below).

6. Theme

"HOLIDAY" is the theme this week. Fit in the holiday season with some "chestnuts roasting by an open fire" or snow and ice "and everything nice".

7. Starting Phrase

Here is an opening phrase to start you off with...
It's the most wonderful time of the year...

Deadline to enter contest is next Saturday at Midnight PST (UTC-8)
Winners will be announced weekly


*Edits

  • (UTC -7) to (UTC -8)
  • Rules No. 6 and No. 7 added, to make requirements more clear

Sample Poem

PDC3K Entry: Holidaze

It's the most wonderful time of the year
I sit back reading a book
Thunder crashes down around me
But I give it hardly a look

Sadness has nothing on me
As I sip my coco and tea
All directions guide me back
To the holidaze that be

The magnetic charm
Of ornaments so cheap
Attracts me and pleases me
As the tall-storied buildings please to reap

Idea: Make a thunder cake
Because everything is so wonderful
I go for the kitchen door
To the oven and hover there, cool...

By @robyneggs



thank you_robyneggs_by_girlbeforemirror.jpg

*Disclaimer: The winners are based on the entries which the judges think are the best. I am not saying anyone is a bad poet, we will not say that. Instead, we seek to offer you our encouraging and supportive feedback as a fellow poet. Our opinion takes into consideration many things that can add or subtract to the value of a poem, including:

  • grammar / Does it make sense?
  • flow / Are there any unclosed loopholes that leave me confused?
  • rhythm
  • rhyme
  • imagery / Can I imagine the pictures the words paint?
  • feeling / Does it cause a reaction?
  • and emotional pull / Do I suddenly have an opinion?

P.S.

Use the "onehumanbasket" tag to get my 100% (real person) upvote.

Use the tag "onehumanbasket" on photography, art or other types of posts besides poetry. Posts using both "poetry" and "onehumanbasket," however, will remain higher priority vote, since I wish to curate the poetry community specifically. I also host a weekly poetry dice contest. Official entries to the Poetry Dice Challenge 3000 (PDC3K) will have the highest priority vote. Please only use the "poetrydice" tag for official entries to the contest. Abusers will be flagged. I also curate posts using just the "poetry” tag. Any left-over voting power gets used for highly selective posts that I hope contribute to the "onehumanbasket" feel. (This includes nonsensical dTube videos and my own posts.)

Sort:  

Cool! I look forward to reading your entry - thanks for participating @baracuda!

Just a pleasure, the holiday theme was fun. Hope you like it!

This poem is so good. It totally put me in the Christmas Spirit. It is full of holiday cheer and it filled me with joy. Bravo and Excellent.@baracuda.

Hi @robyneggs is it just my tired eyes or am I color blind please tell me what are in this dice photos I see snowflakes and scaled. The others what are they? Interesting lorry challenge nevertheless.

Also, I added the original photo to the post, so you can make out the images more clearly. Hope that helps!

I believe the dice are: a magnet, a building, a book, scales, a sad face, an eye, a turtle, a light bulb, and the snowflake you see is actually arrows pointing every which way.

Here is my entry:

https://steemit.com/created/poetrydice

Thanks for hosting these challenges!

You are welcome @pyrowngs. Thanks for entering the PDC3K this week! Cheers~! I am glad you are participating.

winter-landscape-2571788_960_720.jpg

Here is my entry titled "Sixfold Symmetry".

Thank you so much for entering the PDC3K this week @sunravelme! I can't wait to read your poem! :-) Cheers~! Hope you have a warm and happy evening. XO

Sweet! Can't wait to read your entry this week @tegoshei! Happy Holidaze!

Thanks for entering again, you winner you!!! You rock the poetry boat! :-) Cheers~!

Blush blush....

I was just a bit unclear about the starting line, is that compulsory or a guideline?

It should be included.

Thanks for your entry @japhofin8or! Glad to see you return for a round of the PDC3K. :-) Cheers~!

Thank You. I really needed something to guide me on. My job steals all of my focus during this time. Poetry Dice was just the ticket.

A happy release. :-) It's therapy for me to write poetry sometimes too. It feels good to get that creativity out, and for the world to see.

This one was quite a challenge for me, because holidays are very different here than in other parts of the country from what I've experienced. Regardless, hope you guys enjoy a little swamp Christmas poem. :)
https://steemit.com/poetrydice/@clayboyn/cajun-christmas-poetry-dice-challenge-3000-week-18

Thanks for entering the contest again @clayboyn! Your entry was quite vivid. :-)

I was recommended to join this. I will try, I think!
And I look forward to reading all the entries!

Hoping you hop on board and play poetry with us @public-eye! Please enjoy all the great poems the dice feed here at the PDC3K! :-) Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05