Poetry Dice Entry: Sixfold Symmetry

in #poetrydice6 years ago (edited)

winter-landscape-2571788_960_720.jpg
Source

It's the most wonderful time of the year
The snow comes
like a slow sad smile.
This feeling
will be gone tomorrow, with the sun.
They say no two are alike
But they lie-
We are all duplicates in our duplicity
drawn toward pain
like a compass pointing north
Futile as analyzing a rainbow
Lightning striking out
against
sixfold symmetry
Floating slow
as a turtle on a fence post
Know that
It can't ever be too cold to snow
We are all
unstable conditions
flurry squall burst
An arrow shot into the sky
directionless and casual
creating victims unintentionally
A shooting star
crashing into earth
The crater unnoticed by all but those closest
Aflame, bouncing across the surface
Inadvertently destructive
An avalanche of trauma and daily pinpricks
gathering on the slope
finally destroying a busy bridge.
Onlookers shrug and say
"Well, at least they're in a better place now"

This was created for the Poetry dice challenge. Here are the dice images that I included in the poem, with some liberties:
1pcdk.jpg
If you're interested in taking part in the dice challenge for this week, you can find the original post HERE.


rockymountainsteem.png

writersblock.gif


mspgif.gif



Image 1 is from pixabay
Image 2 is from the Poetry Dice Challenge post
Poetry is property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

You are by far and away one of the few "non-rhyme" poets that I enjoy reading. I love the imagery. Nice work!

Thank you, Clay. Gives me the warm fuzzies :)

Wonderful poem, well written, and I really liked it.

Thank you <3

I just love the ending!

Perfect finale to a burst or words, rhythmically leaping from line to line. Your style is bouncy, yet fluid. This poem takes on a life of its own as it rises from a "slow smile" to a "busy bridge". Cheers and thanks for taking the time to participate! I hope you will go back and edit the poem to begin with that starting phrase: It's the most wonderful time of the year... It was implied, not specifically required in the rules, I meant to change that before I posted, apologies. Brrrrr....I am getting cold just thinking of your snowy holidaze ;-) XO

Edited! It's a little dark for a holiday poem lol, but it's where my head's been at

I love it ALL! :-) Cheers!

That is a powerful poem! There were quite a few lines that caused my thoughts to wander inward to myself. I'm sure it will have that same effect on others. Good stuff.

Thank you! That's my favorite part of poetry, when it starts to apply to the context of the individual reader

Wow! really good. Drill in my soul with your letters.

I invite you to go through my blog. I have written something too.

Greetings and keep writing.

Thank you! I'll check it out

I felt a downward rushing sensation while reading this - something I wasn't expecting from the first line. Powerful stuff.

Thank you! The first line was a requirement of the contest, but I really like the juxtaposition of it with the feel of the rest of the poem.

Awesome!

We got dumped on with our first snow of the winter today, a slow sad smile indeed 😕

Snow sucks unless you get to stay in and cuddle or go skiing :( laaaaame

Yes I need some hot cocoa to make this right, not much of a skier though I haven't done it for about 15 years!

Good to e-meet another poet on here, @sunravelme . This struck me: We

"are all duplicates in our duplicity
drawn toward pain
like a compass pointing north"

If only we knew, and recognized this truth in humility, we might be less likely to pursue the illusion of separateness.

Write on!
Yahia

That's a fascinating take- I'll be interested in exploring this illusion of separateness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85