Steemit Poetry Contest #15 + Winners of #14!

in #poetrycontest6 years ago



DISCLAIMER - Yes, I know that the Steemit logo has changed, but I like the old one more and do not want to change it :)



logocontest.png





My Greetings To You!


I apologize, but I forced to reduce the number of prizes... the circumstances...





The theme for Steemit Poetry Contest #15 - Night




About Prizes:


First Place - 6 SBD

Second Place - 5 SBD

Third Place - 4 SBD

Fourth Place - 3 SBD

Fifth Place - 2 SBD

Sixth Place - 1 SBD




Entries will be accepted within five days from the date of publication of an announcement!

Deadline - February 16 3:30 PM UTC





The winners of the Steemit Poetry Contest #14






1st Place - "Three to's, three too's, or three two's?" by @Lymmerik



Our words are conflicting, when spoken or written,

A study in depth you will find.

There’s to, and too, and two; this, of course, is your clue,

So be wise and keep this in mind.



When speaking this sentence, it just can’t be written,

So don’t even bother to try.

And with pencil to paper; you’ll use your eraser,

This is how words go awry.



It’s just how they sound, when not written down,

Which one do you actually use?

You can’t write this sentence, you’ll find it a menace,

Three to’s, three too’s, or three two’s?






2nd Place - "Pirate Words" by @isteemithard



All hands hoy, heave ho or shark bait for the sea,

swashbuckling seadogs, blow the man down, an eye for an eye.

Avast ye now batten down the hatches, there's land we see,

feed the fish of Davy Jones' locker, walk the plank, aye aye.



Hornswagglers get a hempen halter ye hear,

so we pillaged pieces of eight until the conch shell blew.

Blimey lad, cleave a buccaneer to the brisket with this cutlass here,

no privateers nor scallywag landlubbers, just old salt sailing the blue.



Up in the crow's nest, the lookout keeps sight for low tide,

strung high from the mizzen, a black flag of Jolly Roger held tight by knot.

Run a rig, run a shot across the bow, keelhaul ropes tied,

bring a spring upon'er, the shallows we go not.






3rd Place - "Where Words Go To Die" by @chrisroberts



Across the sea of doubt, beyond the hills of mystery,

There is a place where old words go to die.

"Misconstrued, misunderstood and mystified are we,"

Say words long past, "We cannot tell a lie."



The time has been when stroke of pen could lift a million souls,

But so much goes unwritten now by choice,

Their time is gone, and words move on; the parchments, papers, scrolls

Have vanished, and now silenced is their voice.



Longing for a renaissance, renewal of the word;

The ones who seek the truth will always try

To stop the censors' silly game, the madness they've inferred.

Let words live on in peace and never die.






4th Place - "The Strangest Thing" by @brokemancode



Words are utterly complicated

"Dip" and "deep" sounds the same but are not related

Why does "q" always needs the letter "u"?

Why "big" and "huge" are similar but different too?



There are words that are short like "I" or "a"

Or as long as the word "onomatopoeia"

Tired of hearing the word "love" being said?

You can try hundreds of other languages instead.



Words are such strange things

But are also powerful just as a supreme being

For without it there are no songs,story and poetry

These letters mean nothing and you cannot understand me.






5th Place - "The Signified and the Signifiers" by @ecoinstant



They say that pen is mightier than sword,

when used to resonate with brain wave chords.

And I hope you'll not think me too unt'ward

for considering each and every word.



Using words properly, our mental test,

Understanding symbols is of int'rest.

Our words signify reality's depth;

defining concepts is a mystic quest.



Light philosophy that floats on the breeze

or heavy leather tomes filled with treatise,

since the ancient times of wise Socrates

words have been used to bring men to their knees.






6th Place - "Word Cloud" by @danmaruschak



“How's it going?” you ask in greeting.

“How are you?” said with a smile.

You ask these questions without meaning

To dredge up what is deep inside.



Fine! Good! Doing great!

That's what I'm supposed to say.

You didn't send your words with weight

Just noises made in cheerful ways.



But asking questions makes me think

My real answer: scraping by.

But I'll suck it up and follow the script

While wishing you had just said “Hi.”






7th Place - "Words" by @diebitch



Lost in thought when I can’t speak

Strung in lines to make me strong

They lose their way if I don’t weigh

and fail me if I am wrong.



The music, to which my heart beats

Paints a picturesque swan song

My love forever, binds on sheets

Remembering me, when I’m gone



Lovingly Crafted

Rhythmically stirred

What’s the magic?

Words






8th Place - "Inaccurate" by @bennettitalia



Slippery fish in an ocean of sound

Little ones, big ones, floating around

Some scream, some whisper, one sings like a lark

Here's a drab one, a fancy one, a glow-in-the-dark



Here's one: you have to experience to get it

Another's ineffable (don't try to eff it)

One says different things to different people

Another sounds good but is actually evil...



I did find the right one, but it slipped away

Leaving me grasping at straws all day

So here's a replacement that doesn't quite fit

The meaning I needed: "inaccurate"






Rules of The Contest!


  • Only one entry is allowed.

  • Your entry-post must be tagged both #poetry and #poetrycontest

  • The Title must be "SteemitPoetryContest #(with the number of the actual episode)" + the name of your poem.

  • You can use any types of rhyme - End rhyme, Cross rhyme, Internal etc.

  • The size of the poem - three quatrains (one quatrain = four lines).

  • Do not steal! The contest is only original works!






I wish everyone good luck and creativity!





Let's make STEEMIT more interesting and varied together!



Sincerely, Terry Craft.



Sort:  

Here's my entry for this week. It may be a little confusing if you try to read it aloud ;)


A Knight at Night

I met a knight one night as I was walking through the park,
Perched atop a shining, stately steed.
The knight he said, "The path ahead is swallowed by the dark,
So stick with me and follow where I lead."

The night said "Fear me, tremble boy, you should be home in bed."
The knight said "Stay behind my flaming lance,"
The night said "Turn back now, you fool,
My darkness soon shall spread,"
The knight just said "Take courage and a chance."

We pressed on through the dark, and though
I didn't know the way,
The knight protected me with light and song.
Fight the night, or else it might your resolution sway;
To give up and go home is more than wrong.


https://steemit.com/poetrycontest/@chrisroberts/steemit-poetry-contest-15-a-knight-at-night
Thanks Terry! As always, this was a pleasure to write. I can't wait to read all the other entries! :)

@terrycraft,
Here is my entry. Thanks for the great contests!
@Lymmerik

Night in Daylight’s Cloak
By: @Lymmerik

As night is always somewhere upon our spinning globe,
It’s shadows somehow darken our planet’s spinning strobe.
When stars appear up in the sky away from daylight’s robe,
Then dreams will fill our sleep tonight within our frontal lobe.

Awake we are in daylight to seek our fame and hope,
It’s sad to say that sometimes we fail in fear and scope.
When day is done we rest our head with twilight to elope,
It’s just some simple shuteye so tomorrow we may cope.

The night is here upon us and we are barely woke,
We spend our nights in slumber to carry daylight’s yoke.
Near half our life is sleeping for which the night has spoke,
The rest of life is reaching for night in daylight’s cloak.

Click Here to check out Night in Daylight's Cloak on my blog.

Hi Everyone! Here's my entry for this week:

https://steemit.com/poetrycontest/@bennettitalia/steemitpoetrycontest-15-the-visitor

The Visitor

We should be sleeping
But we're not
Morning will hurt
But you're too hot

To refuse
When you're standing at
The door in the dark
Looking at me like that

The night becomes
A kind of day
And I am dreaming
Wide awake

lol @terrycraft I keep editing this! Don't know if I'm making it better or worse, but there it is.

Upvoted and resteemed got an entry this week! Thanks for continuing to host this fun contest!
https://steemit.com/poetry/@fishyculture/steemitpoetrycontest-15-nightscape

Here is my entry for Night https://steemit.com/poetry/@isteemithard/steemitpoetrycontest-15-long-night
Long Night
~
The light was bright but has since passed,
now stars above twinkle, some shoot by fast.
Large and white, the moon sits high,
black and blue hues fill the sky,

Out come fireflies, badgers, and bats, even a bandicoot,
mice, rats, and rabbits run an owl gives a hoot.
Nocturnal is the name,
survival is the game.

Whats here today maybe gone tomorrow,
except for the wind that blows through Chicago.
They say when darkness comes just wait, soon light will follow,
well lets just say those 'they' have never been to Barrow.
~
copyright2018 steemit.com/@isteemithard

This is my first entry in Spanish greetings from venezuela

https://steemit.com/poetrycontest/@luisrigual/steemit-poetry-contest-15-the-night-i-lost-my-beloved

Paso a paso, por la noche en la tiniebla. Recorriendo por la senda, voy a casa de mi amada. Luna en cuarto y con la niebla. Su luz tenue, se nota casi apagada.

Muy alegre voy pensando. Falta poco, ya muy poco, para estar con mi adorada. A cada paso el corazón, su latido va aumentando. ¡besos tiernos! ¡oh su cálida mirada!.

La penumbra de esta malvada noche. No quisiera, hoy recordarla. Ver en brazos de otro hombre. A esa mujer que tanto amaba

Epic winning entries. Hope you collect these and publish it later as a book. congrats to the winners and thanks for your vote on mine.

@terrycraft,
WOW! Thank you for choosing my modest attempt at poetry for 1st place! I really love this contest, no matter the payout, so do not be discouraged, it is all good! Congrats to all the other winners as well. Looking forward to # 15!
@Lymmerik

Thats a nice poem you had there, really deserved it.
This line "Three to’s, three too’s, or three two’s?" and infact all of the poem is really great.
Am new here and would be trying my hands on #15 too.

@blessedben,
thanks for the kind words. Good luck with # 15!
@Lymmerik

Thank you. I love your poems, just followed you for more of them.

@blessedbed,
Thanks so much, that is very kind of you to say! Thanks for the follow.
@Lymmerik

Nice play on 'words' I was blown away when I found out I even placed let alone 2nd place so I had to see who wom first and I must say very clever and great job. If that was a modest attempt then by all means keep holding back so we all still have a chance haha.

@isteemithard,
Thanks you, I really like twisting the meaning of words and how they interact with the worda around them. Glad you took 2nd with your poem.
@Lymmerik

Trust me your poem was beautiful and the rhyme pattern was perfect....,

Funny you said modest, cos trust me , its more than that

Hi all Steemians here is my entry for this week :

https://steemit.com/poetry/@mnallica/steemit-poetry-contest-15-fingerprints-of-the-past

Fingerprints of the past

i drunk
all last night
a bit wine of loneliness
And then sat in front of a huge
mirror
watched
how the life was leaving my veins

M.N.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34