SteemitPoetryContest #15 "Nightscape"

in #poetry6 years ago

The final rays of light are gone, the sun's last ember has burned
Vague forms and shadowy shapes are all that's left to be discerned
Nightsounds come, ears are the tools for observation in this hour
Might is right when bright, but darkness shows stealth also has power.

Like the sequins on an evening gown, stars dot the moonless sky
You stare into eternity 'til you believe you could fly
Into the heavens before you with imagination's wings
Lifting you up and letting you fall into your waiting dreams.

Somewhere in the darkness, thought and fantasy begin to dance
Observed by a captive audience, trapped in sleepy trance.
The choreography gives the dreamer, come the break of day,
The hope and insight needed to carry on about their Way.

Picture from daybreak a couple days ago, taken with Fuji FinePix S8300 from my front yard.
DSCF3114.JPG

This is my entry into this contest, thanks to @terrycraft for hosting!

https://steemit.com/poetrycontest/@terrycraft/steemit-poetry-contest-15-winners-of-14

Sort:  

It's midnight here in England & I'm off to bed. What a lovely piece of poetry to send me off to the land of nod. Thanks fishy will sleep tight now.

Thanks, professor! Good to see you back!

Well, done! Oh, yes! I have the best fantasies in the dark o the morn!

Good luck on the contest!! Tip!

Thank you! I love that place where you're not quite sure if you are still asleep or not... best creative time!

I wish you the best of luck in the contest @fishyculture. I like the photo, it has a tranquil and fresh feeling.

Thank you! I have really enjoyed getting back into poetry, I have not really written much of it the past few years.

Awesome photo and poem, @fishyculture! Good luck in the contest!

Thank you! I took 60 pics that morning, it was gorgeous but my camera really does not do that well in poor light, the pics are mostly duds.

Wow @fishyculture, thats a really nice one you have there.
Wish you the best of luck.

Beautiful imagery you create in the readers mind! I really like your use of color of amber fading into total darkness of the night. You really set a mood with letting us know it’s a moonless night it plays really well in the overall feeling.

Thank you! I had just taken those pics, it was where my mind's eye was as I composed the poem!

well done dear amazing words, and great shot have a great time.

Thanks, friend!

Hi @fishyculture! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.02 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

@dswigle wrote lately about: Has Anyone Seen My Marbles?. Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

ok well I have vote.bang also help vote behind ea

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66