Steemit Poetry Contest #13 + Winners of #12!

in #poetrycontest6 years ago



DISCLAIMER - Yes, I know that the Steemit logo has changed, but I like the old one more and do not want to change it :)



logocontest.png




My Greetings To You!


I was not able to publish the post in time 'cause I had problems with the site... I could not log in. Someone else had similar problems yesterday at about 11 am - 3 pm UTC time? Today everything is OK... I don't understand yet what it was... the problem is on my side or not. Write to me please if anyone else had such problems.




The theme for Steemit Poetry Contest #13 - 13/Coven/Witches




About Prizes:


First Place - 8 SBD

Second Place - 7 SBD

Third Place - 6 SBD

Fourth Place - 5 SBD

Fifth Place - 4 SBD

Sixth Place - 3 SBD

Seventh Place - 2 SBD

Eighth Place - 1 SBD




Entries will be accepted within five days from the date of publication of an announcement!

Deadline - January 31 2:30 AM UTC





The winners of the Steemit Poetry Contest #12



1st Place - "LOVE NOW" by @nicolcron



I think ALL IS NOW! Or so I've been told

No past or future to shape and to mold

Fate writes a play and I guess we're the actors

So day after day it is these same factors...



Decisions today affect all our tomorrows

When focussing in on our joy or our sorrows

ALL IS LOVE!..So LOVE, is NOW?

Can we all please learn to 'LOVE NOW' somehow?



The only true say we can have in this deal

Is to LOVE EVERYTHING, and to LAUGH and to FEEL

And to smile inside, LOVE YOUR NOW and know this...

The PAST and the FUTURE, doesn't even exist!






2nd Place - "prepare for the unpredictable" by @gilmored



The future is unpredictable,

Unreliable at it's best.

If you're not wealthy

Any risk is close to the chest.



Some play it safe,

others take a chance,

I know the market's all a show,

Just a song and dance.



Hope for the best, prepare for the worst.

No one really knows when a bubbles about to burst.

It's better to have and not need than to need and not have,

Could being self sufficient really be that bad?






3rd Place - "The Future Proves Our Past" by @lymmerik



What dreams may come tomorrow, and pass to yesterday?

The good, the bad, the sorrow; with time, they fade away.

The looking glass is narrow, yourself do not betray.

In everything be thorough, the morrow brings today.



The future proves our past, or should it pave our way?

When questions that we ask, are often held at bay.

The days go by so fast, do not be led astray.

Just keep your quest on track; it's black and white, not grey.



How is it we've endured, and not succumbed to fate?

Tomorrow is not secured, go live in love, not hate.

Savor all the soupe du jour, in health and wealth and play.

Today is tomorrow's future, take time to seize the day.






4th Place - "Growth" by @robhimself1



We power up, we push ahead

We post again, another thread

We hope and wish for an upvote

We wish for profit and for growth



We look ahead, to better times

When We make thousands for our lines

We cheer to see a few more cents

We think of promise it represents



One day We might, one day We will

One day our labors shall fulfill

One day We hope for a great score

So We keep posting, one day more






5th Place - "My Future Here Is So Unclear" by @hazem91



They say it's home you should stay here

But my future here is so unclear

I need these thoughts to disappear

But they keep whispering in my ear



"You need to reconcider your role

And take back what this country stole

from where I stand I see no goal

I only see this big dark hole



Few steps ahead in your way

so save yourself and run away

so you can fight another day

you're surely dead if you stay"






6th Place - "Silence Speaks" by @walkingkeys



Tears fall like the sands of time

Dreamers broke, looking for jobs

Hope lost like history's kids

Signs in smoke, looking for gods



Technology offering ocular forgiveness

Visions viciously demanding vengeance

Families hold dear when the future is near

Violent vibrations commands the entrance



Suddenly silence, spoke and softly surrendered

Love found steady, calmly clicking like a clock

Solemnly solutions were offered and rendered

Now wait for the future... it's watching like a hawk.






7th Place - "Retrospect of Tomorrow" by @ctrixx



The future tells a story

Of the moments yet to come

But the memories form only

Where the mind is viewing from



Awakened by the shadows

Of the truth of yesternights.

The days ahead seem hollow

For the past is out of sight



Searching for directions

To that story in your mind

Just pay today's attention

And the pathway, you will find






8th Place - "Future" by @sayee



Future is a word that gives us hope

even if our lives are sliding down the slope

never mind the restrictions

the future always beckons



beyond borders and line of control

eyes look up beyond the patrol

searching for peace beyond borders

trying to escape from the smolders



future is filled with brightness

hopes kindle the flame of happiness

let us hold hands and walk

towards the steady rock






Rules of The Contest!


  • Only one entry is allowed.

  • Your entry-post must be tagged both #poetry and #poetrycontest

  • The Title must be "SteemitPoetryContest #(with the number of the actual episode)" + the name of your poem.

  • You can use any types of rhyme - End rhyme, Cross rhyme, Internal etc.

  • The size of the poem - three quatrains (one quatrain = four lines).

  • Do not steal! The contest is only original works!






I wish everyone good luck and creativity!





Let's make STEEMIT more interesting and varied together!



Sincerely, Terry Craft.



Sort:  

Ooooohhh... Fun topic! As soon as I saw it I was inspired. Writing witch-lists has always kind of been a guilty pleasure of mine. It didn't take me long, but don't mistake my quickness for mediocrity; I think it's pretty good.

My Sisters and My Daughters

The foulness and the fairness of this thick and frosted night
Arouses demons, devils, dragons' fire.
My sisters and my daughters on the prowl 'til morning's light
Will follow where I wallow in the mire.

Insanity, it beckons as I seek some things for brew:
A monkey's heart, a badger's leg and fang,
A hair from a neglected child, a genius's breakthrough,
The vocal chords of birds that never sang.

So fly my coven mistresses, my sisterhood of sin,
These portions of my potion seek to find.
Then sure enough I'll conjure stuff to make me young again,
To live forever, doing deeds unkind.


Thanks for reading! Check out my #dailylimerick if you like humor and rhyme.

Hehe) I love this theme too, 'cause my wife one of them (witch) ^ ^

I hope she does not get to read this comment :p :)

How could I say no to this theme? 😎
Even through sickness I popped this out.

DANCE NIGHT

We gather together every 13th
Dance in the moonlight and pray to the gods
We call those above and some from beneath
Offerings we bring to favor our odds.

Men in the village provide what we need
Then kiss us sweetly, and we're on our way
With our carriage full, pulled by the best steed
We'll see them again at the break of day.

The path is clear, blanketed in moonglow.
The ritual begins, soon in a trance
Our songs cause the trees to bend and billow
By 'morrow we know nothing but the dance.


Link to the whole shebang!
https://steemit.com/poetry/@carrieallen/steemitpoetrycontest-13-dance-night

Thanks again for these awesome contests! Here is my entry.

Magic Glance
By: @Lymmerik
Beware these Witches magic glance,
Into their bubbling pot of trance,
With crescent argent blazing bright,
Approach without fear in dark this night.


Foreboding is keen within your own soul,
You better stop now or soon you will know,
This coven is vile, unpleasant, and daft,
They’ll rattle your cage and conjure their craft.


Forewarning, beware, depart while you breathe,
They’ll bottle your soul with one little wink,
And stir you inside their caldron confect,
You have to be wise and wax circumspect.



Here is a link to: Magic Glance
Thanks for taking the time to read my ramblings!
@Lymmerik

nice rhymes

@fqtee,
Thank you. much appreciated.
@Lymmerik

Here's my entry:
https://steemit.com/poetry/@bennettitalia/steemitpoetrycontest-13-the-doll
Really love the theme, this was so much fun to write. Thanks @terrycraft for this contest supporting poetry on Steemit!

The Doll

The one you love most is the last you'd suspect,
but a doll in your likeness, with pins in its neck,
tucked away in the back of a drawer in her vanity's
not a good sign: you question her sanity.

A tickle in your throat makes you cough as you look
through cupboards, closets, boxes, and books...
In the pantry: carved with strange sigils there stands
a broom, made of real wood, polished by hand,

unnoticed before. Now restless, you keep
waking only to search features softened by sleep.
One night, catlike, she'll rise with the moon
and fly to the sky on her polished wood broom!

i like the image of the witch that your poem has created....

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

Ack! Forgot to upvote and resteem...

Done :)

https://steemit.com/poetry/@gilmored/steemit-poetry-contes-13-before-they-know

Before they know.

They hide out of sight, stay off our minds,
Practice their magic behind closed blinds.
We here whispers, we're told they're tall tails.
It's impossible to prove who's behind the veils.

They rewrite the past, control what's to come,
Our hypnotized leaders are under their thumb.
Like witches and warlocks casting their spells
They disappear people and poison the wells.

As they practice their craft, experiment on the masses,
There is an opposing force growing as the time passes.
A fierce force forming a blazing inferno.
That'll raze them to the ground before they know.

i like the 'opposing force' idea...

Thank you. A bully can only pick on the quiet kid for so long, before the quiet kid looses his patience and forgets the fear.

I feel we are almost at the point where the bully's about to bleed.

As we three gather at the glade
The final payment must be made.
They come to us for vengeance cold
Feverishly grudge lust bold.

When sun is high avert their gaze
Boastful contempt they spurn our ways.
Then darkness falls they creep unkempt
On bended knee nothing exempt.

Relinquish all the deal is done
Just as the dawn awakes the sun.
There were no guarantees or course
And no refunds from daemon source.

https://steemit.com/poetrycontest/@girlbeforemirror/steemit-poetry-contest-13-entry-we-three-original-poem

Congratulations to all for the beautiful poems! This is my entry:

Bewitched

A soothing shroud of silent, sacred night,
When sorrow sleeps and savage dreams flow true.
The sky reverberates a new star’s light,
My soul, alike, vibrates because of you.

Out of the corner of my eye, a ghost,
An evanescent shade of eerie might,
Female, enchanted spell in which I’m lost,
I, clumsy, earthly male with damn poor sight.

You laugh at me, but I’m already deaf.
I’m only a man bewitched just for love.
Your coven plays around me in alto clef,
Your dance is doom for me yet, a hell shove.

@terrycraft, thank you so much for the opportunity to unleash the poetry within; I am a huge fan of this art. Here's my entry to the witch-list, enjoy!

I've been trying this out for a really long time now but I've never won but that won't stop me from still writing.

Here's my entry

https://steemit.com/poetry/@cadwell/steemit-poetry-contest-13-voodoo-crush

THE LAST HOPE - XIII


In a village of trees, hills and ravine
There, with the heart of kinder lived a teen.
Her name was HOPE the Thirteen (13).
Mother taught her- Be patient because the world is reek.

She was enrolled in a school, classy but rude
Always been ill treated, teased and abused.
Day came, patient ran out, she confronted a bully with rage.
Fearful(s) stumbled and ran; screaming - Witches must be caged.

She came to mother, despair and sad
Cried out - Why am I freak and mad.
Mother revealed - two centuries ago sanity got lost in human's greed.
Only pity, those poor ignorants because this coven holds the last HOPE 13.


Link- https://steemit.com/poetry/@dpatcher/steemit-poetry-contest-13-the-last-hope-thirteen
By- @dpatcher

interesting tale as depicted by your poem...i like it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22