Steemit Poetry Contest #13 Entry - My Sisters and My Daughters

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)


Hello, Steemers! Who's ready for some eerie witch poetry?



This is my entry in @terrycraft's Steemit Poetry Contest. Check it out! It's a great contest; there are always fantastic entries and you'll meet a lot of new writers. Thanks, Terry! Now back to the gloom...


My Sisters and My Daughters

The foulness and the fairness of this thick and frosted night
Arouses demons, devils, dragons' fire.
My sisters and my daughters on the prowl 'til morning's light
Will follow where I wallow in the mire.

Insanity, it beckons as I seek some things for brew:
A monkey's heart, a badger's leg and fang,
A hair from a neglected child, a genius's breakthrough,
The vocal chords of birds that never sang.


So fly my coven mistresses, my sisterhood of sin,
These portions of my potion seek to find.
Then sure enough I'll conjure stuff to make me young again,
To live forever, doing deeds unkind.


For lighter, humorous daily poems, check out my #dailylimerick!



Sort:  

I liked this, each stanza is creative and unique. Love that in the second stanza, we start with the more 'typical' brewing ingredients, such as heart and fang, but then goes into the more abstract like a genius' breakthrough and "the vocal chords of birds that never sang". Now, that line was genius. Totally impressed!

Yeah, I guess those last couple would be a little difficult to locate. ;)
Thanks!

If I could write like you I would quit my day job!

Your comment has become strangely relevant. Check out Today's Limerick. You'll see what I mean.
Thanks for your support! :)

I just started following @terrycraft from this post of yours because I like entering contest on steemit, I'm not much of a writer but I tried my best your entry here helped guide my way so thank you. Let me know what ya think https://steemit.com/poetry/@isteemithard/steemitpoetrycontest-13-thirteen-witches-meet-for-coven-time

That's great, way to expand your horizons! I'll check it out. :D

THANKS!. Seriously, it is very nice contest.
Thank you for information!.
Especially rewards are very very big I don't know if do you realize it?

I am familiar with the prizes! I've actually been fortunate enough to place in this contest before. Of course I like the $$$, I just do it mainly to meet and connect with new people. I get to read some great stuff. :)

Niiiiiiicccceee! I love the assortment of ingredients :D Awesome poem Chris, I want to try one now!

Thanks! Carrie even wrote one for this one :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63537.51
ETH 3405.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55