Sort:  

@raj808 ... I have to admit, I had to chew on this one for a bit. I felt thunderstruck by the depth and power of your words. I don't think anyone can really turn off that hum of endless mind chatter. But only find ways to feel at peace despite of it.

Thanks @blanca237. Yes, it is hard to turn off the mind-chatter. I think of it more like a volume dial or a fader on an old synth. Sometimes I can fade it out a bit, very rarely to the point where it's not noticeable. This has been something I have had to deal with for as long as I can remember. The only time I feel no chatter is when I'm in a deep writing trance. It's like all the chatter is in the characters, as I'm thinking where are they going next, what are they saying, why are they saying what they are saying lol. I'm a strange dude but this is how my mind works when writing. Escaping into the characters in the story is a wonderful balm to mental hyperactivity. Thanks for your comment and feedback, I am humbled that you found my words so powerful. 🙏

@raj808 ... you are not strange at all, I love how you use the mind chatter and give your inner voices expression. I do the same lol and it is one of the reasons I love writing. It is always a pleasure to read your words, they inspire me to keep writing, practicing and studying 😘

Loved your take on the freewrite. I could feel the 'background' noise, constant humming throughout - before the noise was even mentioned. There is ongoing brain activity and, perhaps, it's overactive, uninhibited. Thoughts that cannot be controlled. The following line really captures that well:

That endless criticism, sermonizing rhetoric of self-hate.

Was a pleasant read :)

Thanks @poetrybyjeremy. I appreciate your feedback, yes you are right. I have a problem with stress reactions and this poem was a reflection of that mood big time. It was quite cathartic if I'm honest, rather than experiencing those symptoms of anxious thought, in the writing I managed to let them flow out on to the page. I felt really still after it, well comparatively anyway lol.

love it yes indeed i feel these words indeed.

That leftover-meal brain, not quite sane, not quite in,
perpetually switched to a full-on cacophonous din.

WHAT ! yes indeed...

be well

@raj808

Thanks @krazypoet. Yeah, it was a crazy freewrite ;-) Cheers for reading buddy

Could one truly turn off the the hum that came through the filters of consciousness...yes it can when it knows its the noise, the sorrow of only hearing the grind of your own hamster wheel as we try so hard to catch the elusive rewards from the very noise we create...collectively.
Brilliant poem.
L

Thanks for your comment @the.human.union. I agree that it's a difficult job trying to turn off the 'hum' of a busy mind. I have rarely done it. Although, those rare moments of clarity and stillness are even more profound for their rarity when they do happen. Glad you enjoyed the poem, I was writing pretty much unfiltered here

this was wonderful. I always love your work!! and someday when I think i'm ready and good enough I will join you in your discord :D and have a hear to what you have to say.

Thanks @snook you would always be welcome in the workshop I run, I am reasonably chilled out in my feedback ;-) I only do two 1 hour sessions/week now as I was getting burnout and not writing my own blog enough. Used to be daily and now every 3 days. Tut tut, I'm not happy with that lol Thanks for taking a look at my freewrite :-)

yeah, every day would be too much time.......and when I have a story I really like I will let you know and set something up!! Thanks :D

wow!! awesome poem.. !! you are really a great poet.

Thanks @xorexman. I appreciate that buddy

This mind's eye wide open, it's lids pinned back and unable to blink against the blaze of senses.

Is it possible to create one's own white noise, a protective veil that doesn't deaden awareness?

Hmmmn interesting thoughts @bhop42moro thanks for sharing them.

Is it possible to create one's own white noise, a protective veil that doesn't deaden awareness?

I suspect it is indeed and that is what we all do from time to time when it all gets to loud. Thanks for stopping by and checking out my blog :-)

I have felt a disappointed person in this poem! Am I right?

I'm not sure @rimicane, I suppose you could say that. I think I'm often disappointed when this level of intensity in my busy thoughts loom large in my consciousness, as I have done a lot in my life to counteract them. From yoga to meditation to pursuing my passion towards a career in writing. All of these things should bring a surceases to anxious thoughts one would think. But the reality is different. Sufferers of clinical anxiety/depression don't get to choose the levels of intensity. It is a case of learning management and keeping things on a positive trajectory. That's the way I have come to see it anyway. Thanks for reading and stopping by my blog

OMG, you can have my full vote, my switch is never turned off either... :( I am working on skills to stop the constent chatter, time will be my friend :)

Hi @insideoutlet thank you for your vote. I appreciate where you are coming from. It is a struggle sometimes when there is no switch but I feel like a lot of creativity is the pay off for these busy thoughts we have. I have done a lot in my life to counteract them. From yoga to meditation to pursuing my passion towards a career in writing. What are your methods of taming the chatterer in your head? A problem shared is a problem halved. P.S. It's perfectly ok if you'd rather not share them. I'm glad you stopped by my friend and that you found some shared experience in my poem. Take care :-)

Hey, I use exercise as my main diversion tactic. But steemit has also been a good way to release some of thoughts. 😁

Urgent - Another Attempt to Steal from You. Read this Do not click on links in your wallet from @gtg.witnesses - it is a scam!!!

Now for some fun! here is the prompt for today! As I'm all bundled up under blankets! LOL

Day 127: 5 Minute - Prompt: sunburn

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63088.03
ETH 2952.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55