Tic-Tac (free verse) - Steemit School Poetry 100 Day Challenge - Day 69, Poem 60

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Hi!

I’m back on Day 69 for my 60th Entry to the Steemit School Poetry 100-Day Challenge by @d-pend.

I'll be glad should you be able to read and comment.

Best of lucks to all contestants.

͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒ ͒

Tic-Tac

These are the progenies of time.

These fingers of a horrid hand.

These one, two, three, four, five.

These tic-tac, tic-tac, tic-tac.


These, appalling children of yore.
These, howling clamors of prorogue.
These, a kid’s want of a bit more.

These, the succubi of Saturnine eons
to deceitfully seduce mortal men,
to deliver a shortest pleasure.

These have, unsuccessfully,
forced me to remember:
suffocating follow-ups,
scrutinizing every minute,
counting pros and counting cons
of a most dreadful decision.
Should I keep trying, or should I go?


These are the forgotten questions

your memory keeps inquiring.



Source


A Personal Comment:

I've just laid out some last minute ideas on memory and time. They came to me as I tried to understand Dali's The Persistence of Time.

Thanks for reading.

See you tomorrow with another poem.


Category III

Here, the link to Steemit School Discord.

Sort:  

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 3.22% upvote!
I was summoned by @omarmontes. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68362.52
ETH 3747.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66