And so I Wrote this Poem...

in #poetry6 years ago



IMG_1466.JPG



When I look at you I see
Autumn aflame in your hair;


In dread darkness
When night falls drear
Your face appears,
A red canoe of moon
Rising over my emptiness,

Sailing the length
Of a river of cloud
In a quiet afternoon
Endless;

And I’m undone again
And want to paint you
In ochre tones,

Cover you with red paint
Until woods and hills
Enclose

And hold you in their arms
In multicoloured groves.

Today my words were red
And I wanted to daub
Masses of them all over you

And so I wrote this poem.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Sort:  

I like poems that are self-referential, self-reflexive, that talk about themselves, @johnjgeddes! They are the motive of their own creation. In this poem we see how the lyrical speaker expresses his desire to paint the beloved ochre and red, draw each feature, curve, put each color, and that's what he does in this poem: draw each feature, curve, give color. The poem is the process of his own creation. I also wanted to make a comment about your self-reflective poem, about the colors of the afternoon, about how the poet becomes a painter. But it didn't come out! ;)

what I wanted to communicate was the blurring of identities and how the beloved who occupies such a prominent place in my interior landscape becomes identified with the seasons and the exterior landscape. It's true that when I see autumn I think of her and can't draw a line between the two

A poem of colors, changing as the mood states of the lyric speaker. From red passion to ocher from bitterness. From the dark night to the multicolored trees. So, then, is life. Sometimes we are painted vibrant colors and at other times only the gray persists. A beautiful poem, @johnjgeddes.

Thank you, @aurodivys, and for your lyrical and perceptive reflection on the essence of the poem. You are very insightful

Really very beautiful, good job.

And so I loved your poem.....xx

amazing 🍁🍁🍁🍁

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @johnjgeddes! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 9000 comments. Your next target is to reach 9500 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61015.50
ETH 2395.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64