Original poem ~ Tis gold, not love, the world doth want!

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

golden pair.jpg

Greedy clamoring for gold in the hills
Has spoiled another day,
Sun and moon do little warm me
Treachery dons the market place.

Given the choice between salt and friend,
Too oft I have felt life's sting
Noble companions have left my side
To bask in selfish gleam.

Let me but take my loaf of bread
To a clean and gentle brook,
Alas my eyes are opened
Tis gold, not love, the world doth want.

Original Poem/Image Pixabay
Melissa

Sort:  

Congratulations @joearnold! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This comment has received a 25.00 % upvote from @minnowhelper thanks to: @joearnold.
For more information, click here!

Delegate Steem Power and get weekly Profit with @minnowhelper
For more information, click here!



great content!

Thanks, King of Steem 777, Nice to hear from you, as always!
Melissa

Excellent poem! Thanks for sharing. I can see why @joearnold didn't believe you actually wrote this at first :) It has that air and quality that screams 'bind me and leather and tuck me away'

Well ...thank you! You just never know who might give you what! ;)

.69 bud, welcome to #thealliance!

Great poem!

Thanks for stopping by, appreciate the upvote! Glad you liked it! I usually do something a little different, but I guess changing it up a bit can be a good thing!
Have a great morning!
Melissa

It was a great piece.

You too!

This is lovely!

Thank you!

Nice poem
..upvoted and followed you

Thank you ...your feast this weekend looks delicious! Many blessings to you and your husband.
Melissa

Great poem! I tried writing poems but I can't make them rhyme. I guess I need to practice more. Play with my words. Being bi-lingual confuses me sometimes, but I know I can improve my writing in time. Just gotta write more often. :-)

Being bi-lingual in itself is an honorable accomplishment and understand the confusion, especially if you use both frequently...I know two other languages but not fluently, Spanish and Turkish sometimes i want one word and another pops out of my brain instead...my husband and kids think I am nuts sometimes.
Blessings,
Melissa

Haha I can relate! There were times that I mixed up my words with different dialect and languages. My friends find it funny, so we all laugh whenever that happens. I'm currently studying Spanish using Duolingo app on my phone coz I will be going to Peru Next year. :-)

Happy Sunday! :-)

oh that is one of our dream locals...we spent time in Ecuador ...it is awesome ...want to move there some day ...hopefully soon. I love duolingo ...it is the best!

Speaking with a true Spanish is nice but duolingo definitely helps! :-)

Ecuador is close to Peru so we might fly there too. :-)

YOu should it is amazing...my favorite spot is Yangana so much water also vilcabamba is cool lets of hippie expats and great food.
Spanish on.....
Melissa

You made me laugh at " Spanish on" lol!

Yangana- i will keep thay in mind. :-)

We aim to please! Much love dear!
Melissa

Alas but love cannot be bought by any gold. I do not have gold but here's an upvote instead.

So appreciated and in return I gave you my two cents worth...LOL
Much joy is wished to you in return!
Melissa

OH you came by ...how groovy!

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @joearnold. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @joearnold to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Whoa, didn't know this existed!

I didn't know you could do that. nice

Right! so many tips and tricks...so little time!

Very true, new things pop up all the time. It's hard to put them all in one place

I was told by @surfermarley to narrow my focus but sometimes i want to publish a poem...maybe just occasionally...i have a little book i have compiled over the years. :) I think i am doing well with the narrow focus with my two series ...the one on weeds and the other on wow...i had no idea, but sometimes, i just feel like a poem...
what do you think
Melissa

I understand what you mean. Ultimately go with your gut.

However, there is much to be said for narrowing your focus. You can achieve exponentially greater things that way.

I did a post on it actually:
Here

Thank you for the link ...Focus..now i have more to consider...hmm
blessings,
Melissa

Absolutely Melissa, that's what I'm here for :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39