I Swear We Can- day16 + @topkpop's #noconfortzone challenge

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Remember @topkpop's SPECIAL ASSIGNMENT of last month ?

The #nocomfortzone challenge!

The one behid Nonconfort zone by @d-vine, For The Life Of ME by @TheBugIQ and Stepping Out of My "Comfort Zone" by @thekittygirl !

Old but gold! right?

If you missed one of these posts, you definately need to read it. And maybe read them again if you already did.

In my opinion, a post shouldn't "die" after 7 days. This challenge didn't get forgotten, not by me at least, and I want you all to go back to what's beautiful and revive it if you believe it deserves a new life.

This challenge never really died to be revived, it never made it out of my to-do list. I wanted to joing and I knew what exactly would be my #NoConfortZone, I just didn't get the chance.. or the courage.. or both to do it.

What I'm about to share with you now is a video I had one of my friends record about two weeks ago but I never posted it.

The reason?

I don't feel confortable with the idea of having a video of me being out there for everyone to see. I am confortable with public speaking, but giving people the chance to watch me speaking, watching again and focusing maybe on my wrong moves or misspellings and flaws.. that's a frightening idea to me!

You will see my clumsiness and awkwardness clearly I guess. I don't usually read from a paper or a phone. I usually memorise my poems but when cameras are around, everything changes!

That's beyond my confort zone.


This video fits perfectly in the 100 days poetry challenge organised by @d-pend , it was filmed in day 2 or 3 I think, and we are already in day 16.

How long will I have to wait more?

So here it is, for you to watch, judge and critic. And I'm not saying this as something negative, I will really appreciate your feedback. I'm already in my unconfort zone so let me swin deep in it!

I performed this poem in an openmic event in a coffee shop in Tunis, surrounded by my english speaking friends from Amideast.

I Swear We Can!

They say it’s home, I should stay here,
But all I’ve felt so far was fear.
I need these thoughts to disappear,
But they keep whispering in my ear:
“You didn’t choose to be born here.
It’s only home if you hold it dear.
A home welcomes you and makes it clear.
You need to reconsider your role
and take back what this country stole.
From where I stand, I see no goal.
I only see this big dark hole
Few steps ahead in your way.
Save yourself and run away
so you can fight another day.
You’re surely dead if you stay.”
“The other side looks very bright.
Why was I born in this big fight
between the darkness and the light,
between our rules and all that’s right,
between what is and what should’ve been,
what we deserve and what we’ve seen?
Our lives are wasted in between.
Our dreams are vanishing in this scene.
What have I done to deserve this pain?
My very existence is all in vain.
I feel so lost like tears in rain.”
That’s what he says when I ask my brain.
But brains have no clue what hearts are hoping.
They hope we’d stop complaining and weeping.
For we don’t choose countries, they just happen.
We can let them in if our hearts are open.
If we would turn our backs for all,
Tunisia would have no chance at all.
And that, my friends, is what I call
Staying down after we fall.
And then we’d spend our lives regretting.
For losing is better than not fighting.
“This isn’t a topic for debating”
Says every martyr we’re forgetting.
There is much yet to be done.
Until the last believer is gone,
or until the fight is finally won,
the struggle has to be carried on.
So let us stay. Let’s rise again.
Never ask me how or when.
Just do your part and you’ll see then
That we can rise, I swear we can!

separation.png

Proud Member Of:


GratefulVibesIOW COLOR LOGO.png

Sort:  

I saw this and I am so sorry I didn't get to comment until now (although I did upvote). This was awesome! I absolutely love that you did this and admitted that it was uncomfortable and why. I think that took a lot of bravery to stand up in front of a bunch of people (you could totally hear that it was a busy place too) as many people could not do what you just did.

Fantastic job and fantastic poem. I give you my own virtual round of applause. Keep being Awesome Hazem. :)

Thaaanks @topkpop
And thanks for the amazing initiative you started. I wouldn't have done this if it wasn't for you ^_^

💜💚💙

You have a minor typo in the following sentence:

If you missed one of these posts, you definately need to read it.
it should be definitely instead of definately.

I'm glad to know I have ONLY one typo :D

I don't know... this is somewhat annoying to have this damn Bot at Steemit. It really distracts away from the post and its intentions and in a way is insulting.

Sorry @hazem91 , for this. Nice poem and congrats on the good delivery :)

F@ck this grammar nazi and please go away LOL.

Full Upvote from me :)

Haha thank you @robertandrew. The nazi didnt bother me I found it funny lol

I love the message of this poem :) but I do feel like you hit the peace with the rhyme nuke... I wonder if you would benefit from Guy's suggestion. Because you tend to have solid imagery and often really brilliant lines but then flame throw it with rhyme. So how do you feel to write outside of rhyme for a while ? I think you could do amazing things but it is up to you :)

Thanks for the advice
I tried it by the way lol
It didn't feel... my style
But it was worth trying ;)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

"Losing is better than not fighting"... I love this phrase, it has the meaning of staying in the fight. Good job, classmate of the intermediate level @hazem91. I like your poetry

Thank you so much @zeleiracordero
I really appreciate your comments ^_^


شكرا للمشاركة الجميلة.
حصلت على تصويت من
@arabsteem curation trail !
و تم اختيار مقالتك ضمن مقالات يومية مختارة للنشر اليوم في مقالنا!
يمكنك الحصول على تصويت اضافي عبر ارسال مبلغ
0.05
ستيم او اسبيدي الى حساب التصويت الالي
@arabpromo
مع رابط المقال في حقل المذكرة (memo)
مما يتيح لك الحصول على تصويت من 0.10 الى 0.40 :)

16d.gif

You read that perfectly, far better then I could do - upmost respect for that. I really do dislike being on video and hearing my own voice - but after doing a weekly vlog for so long I learned to live with it. It was really tough at the start, I just felt silly sharing videos of myself talking - but over time I have become used to it. Superb poem, and excellent delivery you are truly a master.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Thaaanks Mr Cafein ^_^
Well this comment from you(a native english speaker) was more than I can ever dream of!
Thaanks for everything. You really are a great friend

salem,i want to know if tunisians have a discord channel for steem i would like to join.thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60865.75
ETH 2381.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57