The Null Testament

in #poetry6 years ago

Death of Samson - Gustave Dore 1866.jpg

Without you,
I'm a shepherd without a flock.
Leading no one on the road to no place.
Wandering aimlessly, no parents, no home.
I will deliver no people from their suffering,
felling no giants, wearing no crown.
Our child will not build the Temple,
without you.

Without you,
I'm a prophet without the Word of God.
No message to spread, yet they come for me,
pleading, always pleading.
I wail and ask them to deliver from me this burden,
but no deity will come whaling
to show me the error of my ways.
No truth to share, no succor to give,
no relief received, no mercy or reprieve.
Without you.

Without you,
I'm a warrior shorn,
no protector for our people.
No lion slain, no foxes outwitted, no hive found.
The dust settles around me,
my enemies still stand.
I'm weak and powerless,
and voiceless,
without you.

Without you,
there will be no last will and Testament.
No Covenant for them to follow.
Without you,
all is chaos and darkness over the pit.
Without you,
nothing is true, and nothing is permitted.
Without you.

Separator line_smallEST.jpg

This piece was written for @mamadini, without whom... well, I just wrote a piece about it.

Thanks to all the Isle of Write members who gave me feedback and encouragement on this piece, and all the others. Especially @whosim, @carmalain7, and @authorofthings, for this piece.

Check out my latest posts:

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The image used in this post is The Death of Samson, by Gustave Doré, 1866, and is public domain.

© Guy Shalev 2018.

Sort:  

three sections to correlate to three days:

the first is a day of tidying, getting your ducks in a row and occupying your time productively;

the second a day of spiritual reflection, inward focus on the value of another in your life;

the third a day of physical exercise and expression, the active mindful distraction before one can see their worshiped one.

Guy, I have not seen the hair, but please don't go shearing yourself now, those caught up in the image seem quite startled by the new look.

On a slightly more serious note, if your ability to choose your image and the consistency and symbiotic nature of it across your writing alone should pull in the curious, and, if the venture inside this place, the writing bid them stay.

What I love most in your poetry is the weight that write it with. Every word with purpose, every stanza with meaning, every allusion with direction, and all so very vulnerable.

I might never be able to write like you, but I know that every read gives me a little bit more insight into the aspects of poetry that will make my writing stronger.

I've been called a scholar and a saint, but never a warrior or a shepherd, so I can only speak for one of the three lost ones - reading this was a whale of a time and I'm so glad that you have God Niish in your life (if just selfishly so that I can see the last testament when it is written).

Thank you for the write and share, @geekorner!

Dunno, Samson still seems to have quite a bit of hair in that third image. And the third day is the day of turning inward, because the other person is not there.

And well, I guess it certainly helps when one has so many renaissance, baroque, and other artists to draw from. I guess using Doré so often in particular is definitely helping lend some cohesion to my pieces. But, I've had a book of his art in my house as a child, and the Old Testament is part of my culture, and it's just too good, his art, y'know? But yes, finding the right piece of art is such an easy way to make your post better, that I feel especially for poetry far too many are overlooking.
Thank you for noticing the care I put into that.

And thank you for everything else you say, Alain. On one hand, it might make my head too big, what you and Niish say to me, were I actually comfortable taking it all at face value. On the other hand, it humbles me, and drives me to keep trying to be worthy of all this high praise.

(Also, don't think I didn't see that "whale of a time" :P)

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

It's rather bleak, but I understand the sentiment.

Yeah, it would miss the point if it weren't bleak. "I understand the sentiment" is high praise though, for that is what poetry is trying to pass through, I think. The feeling, the emotion, that demands release. And well, you've seen me unhappy the other week when this happened the first time.

Also, would you say it's bleaker than the other piece on this very topic, Three Days' Longing? And what of this one, about imagining a life without that person?

And I appreciate you taking the time to comment on poetry, even though it might not speak to you as clearly as it once had. Thank you, friend Itai :)

That's quite impressive. And the rest of us can't even be bothered to remember a birthday (or maybe that's just me).

I have an easier time remembering mythic stories than I do birthdays. Also, growing up in Israel and remembering most of my lessons from my school years, including the Old Testament ones, certainly didn't hurt.

Thanks, and glad you liked it. Also thank you for the continued support from the witness :)

My heart feels such pleading and such truth. The knowing that surrounds the emptiness of life absent that soul that makes one worth passing through it. As always, I greatly admire these works that male me feel.

That is the true goal of, not just poetry, but all writing, and all media, to make us feel, to make us think, is it not?

And if so, does that mean "love" is itself a work of art? A fiction? Makes one wonder. But the feelings, they're definitely real.

Thank you for the always kind words, and for your support :)

Trust me! Your poetry is truly my pleasure to read and absorb. You have a great skill and I would be foolish not to stop by and regularly read.

The dust settles around me,
my enemies still stand.
I'm weak and powerless,
and voiceless,
without you.

This is an incredibly intense piece. Even for you and that's saying something.

You always impress me with how bare you lay yourself. I've questioned with the lovely @mamadini herself on an occasion, whether it might be easier to be so true in fiction or poetry. I still haven't decided.

I remember that exchange, you said that poetry allows more distance, more obfuscation. I think either can be had either way. It's all up to the writer, and how clearly they wish to speak.
I don't think either form allows for more obfuscation or being more true. It's all up to the writer. I can write pieces that would be clear or unclear in either.

And yeah, this piece... I feel very strongly when it comes to the girl. Perhaps too much so.

Hi again,

I love the consistent drumming rhythm of biblical allusions throughout this piece, used as counterpoint to the unthinkable concept of the absence of heart's desire...

😄😇😄

@creatr

This poem makes me think of how we never know the extent of our strength until we have sought to exceed them. The quote "'Have to' is a good master" comes to mind. While I often find myself contemplating the worth of life without the things from which I draw strength, I am reminded by your poem somehow that we are capable too of drawing strength from within when needed. Thanks for sharing.

"'Have to' is a good master."

Necessity is the mother of all invention, eh? But it could be seen in another way too. That it's still a master, that you let necessities control your life, rather than being the master and realizing nothing is "a must."

Here's a quote that speaks for the other side of the coin:
"Argue for your limitations, and sure enough, they're yours." - Richard Bach.

It's interesting you speak of the poem reminding you of something that goes beyond it, because in it, there is no more strength without the other person.
But I guess in art, what is not said is often as important, and certainly what it makes us think of.

Thank you for the comment Moe :)

This is very endearing!! I love the imagery... you're completely empty and so is the world without her...your true feelings for her shine through in this piece and I hope she is with you again soon. 😊

It's "funny", but she is always with me, inside. Yet, sometimes, not. Thank you for the kind words. And yes, I hope to never feel without her again :)

This is a very nice write up and using the illustration of Samson tells the entire story. Good work

Thank you for the kind words. Though in the poem, Samson does not manage to take down the enemies of his people, an image of ultimate failure, that image still gives the right vibe for what I wanted to convey - everything falling down.

Okay. Its good all the way, good work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58661.64
ETH 2723.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32