You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Null Testament

in #poetry6 years ago

three sections to correlate to three days:

the first is a day of tidying, getting your ducks in a row and occupying your time productively;

the second a day of spiritual reflection, inward focus on the value of another in your life;

the third a day of physical exercise and expression, the active mindful distraction before one can see their worshiped one.

Guy, I have not seen the hair, but please don't go shearing yourself now, those caught up in the image seem quite startled by the new look.

On a slightly more serious note, if your ability to choose your image and the consistency and symbiotic nature of it across your writing alone should pull in the curious, and, if the venture inside this place, the writing bid them stay.

What I love most in your poetry is the weight that write it with. Every word with purpose, every stanza with meaning, every allusion with direction, and all so very vulnerable.

I might never be able to write like you, but I know that every read gives me a little bit more insight into the aspects of poetry that will make my writing stronger.

I've been called a scholar and a saint, but never a warrior or a shepherd, so I can only speak for one of the three lost ones - reading this was a whale of a time and I'm so glad that you have God Niish in your life (if just selfishly so that I can see the last testament when it is written).

Thank you for the write and share, @geekorner!

Sort:  

Dunno, Samson still seems to have quite a bit of hair in that third image. And the third day is the day of turning inward, because the other person is not there.

And well, I guess it certainly helps when one has so many renaissance, baroque, and other artists to draw from. I guess using Doré so often in particular is definitely helping lend some cohesion to my pieces. But, I've had a book of his art in my house as a child, and the Old Testament is part of my culture, and it's just too good, his art, y'know? But yes, finding the right piece of art is such an easy way to make your post better, that I feel especially for poetry far too many are overlooking.
Thank you for noticing the care I put into that.

And thank you for everything else you say, Alain. On one hand, it might make my head too big, what you and Niish say to me, were I actually comfortable taking it all at face value. On the other hand, it humbles me, and drives me to keep trying to be worthy of all this high praise.

(Also, don't think I didn't see that "whale of a time" :P)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56036.67
ETH 2503.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26