Poetry: Living Room, Montreal

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Not long ago I spent a year studying translation in Montreal, which turned out to be a transformative experience. I met my partner and some of my very best friends there, and it would take a longer post than this to describe the many ways in which that city stole my heart.

I lived in an apartment with four other folks from around the world-- a British northerner, a British southerner, a Ukrainian, and a Frenchman. English was our lingua franca, but even between us three native speakers there were a fair number of missed communications due to language issues. We were all students and artists, fumbling our way through a city unlike any other.

I wrote this shortly after leaving, in an attempt to capture the glorious messy environment of the apartment where we spent that winter. The picture below was taken in our living room, and if you look closely you can spot some of the items featured in the poem.


Living Room

Montreal1.jpg

One tv, spray-painted gold
two feet cubed, fifteen years old
a pack of crisps, a bag of chips
a vape or three
flavored hits
of nicotine and THC
one kit of hair peroxide, used
one charcoal drawing of a cube
the Queen’s ironic painted visage
Quadaffi over Greenwich Village
a tiny Buddha staring down
a miniature seaside town
A betta fish, his bowl, his wives
A pineapple, two butter knives
A minor insect infestation
possibly a lost crustacean
a bag of psychadelic flora
chemistry that’s not in order
one bike tire, but no bike
Not the place to bring a tyke
one laptop with a broken screen
That powder might be ketamine?
Three scarves, two hats, an ancient jacket
speakers which cause quite the racket
five accents proclaim in bitter tones
“it’s too much man!” before they groan
“This afternoon, let’s all clean up-
There isn’t even one clean cup!”
A sinful den, a winter solace
A home that’s warm if not quite flawless
Packed up now in crates and bags
kilograms on luggage tags
For one winter, that was all
February, Montreal.

–Donovan, 2015

Is there any place in the world that changed your life? Do you love Montreal like I do? Hate Montreal? Ever spray-painted a TV? Let me know in the comments!

SS-pansies-EN.jpg(https://discord.gg/D2V8nq9)

The STEEM Engine

!steemitworldmap 45.5017 lat 73.5673 long description d3scr

Sort:  

Nice one - this entire poem really reminds me of my first few years of college, lol! I've even spray painted a TV ;)

I like how this captures just a moment in time, in a place, with a few distinct people. I feel like I know the "characters" just by proxy. Great work.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=donovanpage
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=poetry-living-room-montreal


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

hahaha, interesting
such a house...lol

Not a place to bring a tyke. Lol. I think not.

That must have been a great experience living in Montreal with other people from around the world. What were your overall thoughts on Montreal as a city?

Ah, I love Montreal. It has a lot going for it. Low cost of living compared to cities with similarly vibrant scenes in the US and Canada. Very friendly population, generally easy to meet folks and build social groups. Great art, music, literature scenes, highly international, always something going on. Great food and coffee, hundreds of bars and clubs for any taste.

The worst thing is the weather (ARCTIC winters and sweltering summers), but I actually got used to it quickly. Montrealers don't let winter stop them-- the buses run on time, there are public festivals and outdoor parties all winter, you just buy a warm coat and get on with it.

I will say, it would probably be pretty different if you didn't speak French. People aren't overtly unfriendly, and in the city nearly anyone who speaks French can get by in English, but social scenes and neighborhoods are definitely segregated by primary language. But I know others who didn't speak a word of French and they still loved the town!

I've only been to montreal a few times for holidays, but I enjoyed each time I was there. You're right about the subtle differences when you are an english speaker vs a french speaker Luckily all canadians have to learn french up till highschool, so I still have enough french in me to get by haha. Glad you enjoyed it

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 5X upvote!
I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar!
I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

Going to college at Auburn University in Auburn, Alabama. Poetically life changing just as you describe Montreal. I'm sure I would love it if I had been yet, but not yet. Want to! Maybe soon, and I have yet to paint a TV. Totally understand how it could happen though, and surprised it wasn't covered in stickers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61797.74
ETH 2429.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64