Sort:  

Ah, I love Montreal. It has a lot going for it. Low cost of living compared to cities with similarly vibrant scenes in the US and Canada. Very friendly population, generally easy to meet folks and build social groups. Great art, music, literature scenes, highly international, always something going on. Great food and coffee, hundreds of bars and clubs for any taste.

The worst thing is the weather (ARCTIC winters and sweltering summers), but I actually got used to it quickly. Montrealers don't let winter stop them-- the buses run on time, there are public festivals and outdoor parties all winter, you just buy a warm coat and get on with it.

I will say, it would probably be pretty different if you didn't speak French. People aren't overtly unfriendly, and in the city nearly anyone who speaks French can get by in English, but social scenes and neighborhoods are definitely segregated by primary language. But I know others who didn't speak a word of French and they still loved the town!

I've only been to montreal a few times for holidays, but I enjoyed each time I was there. You're right about the subtle differences when you are an english speaker vs a french speaker Luckily all canadians have to learn french up till highschool, so I still have enough french in me to get by haha. Glad you enjoyed it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61720.10
ETH 2429.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63