I am From (An Original Poem Examining Childhood)

in #poetry7 years ago

pine-2562165_1280.jpg

I am From


I am from the blossoming Crabapple tree,
the Dogwood, the Pine,
and thorns in my feet.
I am from broken bones in the backyard
and a castle's stone wall.
I'm from periwinkle and wicker wood,
from Hoppes No. 9
and Chanel No. 5
I am from hide and seek
and TIPS on the trampoline
from seaweed dancing in the lake
and a pool shaped like a jellybean.
I am from early morning woods and
"Hush, you'll scare the deer."
I am from pressing Papa's bullets.
I am from Catholic school fear.
I am from magic circle, magic keys,
from a race around the world
and a knobby wooden Shillelagh.
I am from Irish lullabies and strong German pride.
I am from "Ishkabibble" and "Biscuit,"
from three brothers raised by wolves
and a string of names
called before my own.

Sort:  

Lovely poem @deemarie. You write very well. I have followed you and hope you will check out some of my poetry as well. Take care. :)

Thank you so much! :) This vulnerability with my writing is still very new and very uncomfortable for me, so it means a lot! I will definitely follow you back, I love reading other people's poetry-- It gives you an insight into a person you may not get otherwise

I just self-published my first book of poetry and it's all very raw and emotional to me. It's about love that I have lost, mistakes that I have made, and faults that I have...it takes bravery to put those feelings out in public. I congratulate you for doing so. Keep bleeding onto that page. :)

I really like the way this was put together. It made for a nice effect. Good work.

Congratulations @deemarie! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @deemarie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56478.46
ETH 2384.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34