True Confessions of a ☁️Steem Junkie☁️,steemCreated with Sketch.

in #humor7 years ago (edited)

Or, How I Formed a Local Chapter of ☁️Steemit Anonymous.☁️

Admit it, Steemian. You Are An Addict!

Hooked on Steem...

Hooked on Steem
Photo courtesy of Stas Svechnikov and http://unsplash.com

It Came To Me in the Wee Hours of the Morning...

Something woke me far too early, and I could not go back to sleep. My brain "turned on" and refused my best efforts to shut it down.

What was on my mind? Steemit, of course. Then I realized;

I had become a Steemit addict.

Beginning a serious inventory, I mentally reviewed the past month. Good heavens, what has become of me? Steemit, Steemit, STEEMIT on the brain, 24/7!

Come on now, be honest with yourself; take this quiz before it's too late. How many of these symptoms do you recognize?

  • You don't read much anymore - aside from Steemit blogs, that is...
  • You tell everyone you meet how cool Steemit is
  • You have begun blogging about your dreams
  • Events that haven't crossed your mind since childhood suddenly seem like good things to share with your readers
  • You should be working; instead, you're curating or making notes for your next post
  • Your innermost thoughts seem to find their way before thousands of Steemit readers
  • "Click Bait" titles keep parading through your mind
  • You have a new hammer (Steemit;) everything else now looks like a nail...
  • You've missed dinner (more than once!) because you were waiting for the perfect time to post
  • "What did you say, Dear?" You were daydreaming about your next article
  • Steemit consumes more time than your favorite hobby
  • You're bleary-eyed, losing sleep over Steemit
  • Cuddling has taken a back seat to posting

No, you don't need to score your results; it should be pretty obvious already;

You have been STEEMED!

 God help you! God help us all!

So, What's our next step?

I'm thinking about contacting other Steemit bloggers that live nearby... maybe organizing some meetings. Surely there's comfort in numbers?

There must be someone out there who can help... I believe in a Higher Power, don't you?

The following scene may be only days away...


Looking downcast, he slowly approaches the podium.

"Hi, My name is Duncan...


...and I am a Steemian."

"Hi, Duncan!"

There is a pause, then a deep breath.

"I... I admit it! -- to myself... to all of you --

I am powerless. I have an irresistable compulsion... I simply cannot help myself!

I must spend more time on Steemit!!!"

Overwhelmed by the shame of it all, Duncan covers his face with his hands.

<subdued sounds of weeping>


Be sure to contact me...

...for the time and date of the next Steemit Anonymous meeting. Perhaps we can help each other!

If nothing else, maybe we'll get some good ideas for our next article...

Local "Steemit Anonymous" Meeting Room

Local "Steemit Anonymous" Meeting Room
Photo courtesy of Crew and http://unsplash.com

If you recognize yourself in this article...

...leave your first name ONLY in a comment below. ;) Steemit Anonymous respects your right to privacy.

🏁


For a topical index to many of my other interesting articles, CLICK HERE


Did you enjoy this post? Check Out my Table of Contents:


@creatr

Follow me, I'm creatr


@creatr

Sort:  

uh huh.....well I was only waiting for me to get to 65 rep see, then I was going to cut back, but I have it all under control.

Sweetie, God bless ya', but recovery can't even begin until you recognize that you have a problem... ;)

...and yet, here you are on Steemit again.....and here I are....hmmmm....

Ah, yes... 'course, I'm just here to conduct this meeting... ;)

Well, I have the Serenity Prayer available on my post if you need it ... just stayin'

Thank you! :) ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.18 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 13 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

So...
will there be wifi at the meeting?
I only ask because I need to make sure I don't have any red notification numbers on my account. Apparently that's bad.
So I have to make sure I read all the new posts in my feed as soon as they come in, and reply to all my replies.
Someone mentioned Facebook........ what's Facebook?

AFAIK, this "Facebook" thing was something that our parents (grandparents?) were faddish about...

And, um, sorry, but all "devices" are collected at the door... Hope you'll still come anyway? ;)

WOW!

I seriously was going to write a post similar to this, because I am an addict, as well. Thoughts of Steemit posts are always creeping into my head, no matter where I am. And I have lost so much sleep just making sure I have quiet time to curate and post before the rest of the family wakes up. It is definitely an addiction!

I hear you!

Welcome to Steemit Anonymous, @countryinspired... Glad you've taking the first important step... ;)

I have 51 outstanding notifications on FB and I don't care. Even one notification on Steemit and Bam! I'm on it. Is it @creatr with one of his awesome posts?

Hi, @gutzofter, as much as I hate to admit it; if you truly want to recover, you may have to ignore one of @creatr's posts once in a while...

Of course, I deeply appreciate the sentiment, Thank You! ;)

Hi, @throughtheglass,

Welcome to our Steemit Anonymous meeting...

Ooft, I am in this and no mistake!

Hi, @meesterboom,

Welcome to our Steemit Anonymous meeting... Thank you for admitting your weakness... ;)

Lol, suckers. I can stop any time I want.
I just don't wanna...

Ah, @mattclarke... So sorry...

We'll be here when you're ready to admit the truth! ;) :)

Mmmm... Smoke Junkie - like ur post @creatr !!! voted

Hi, @tsxbox,

Welcome to our Steemit Anonymous meeting... Thank you for coming to our meeting! ;)

Let's not forget:
-You make use of the F5 button to refresh Steemit far too often
XD

Hi, @herverisson,

Welcome to our Steemit Anonymous meeting... Thank you for adding to the list! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63571.79
ETH 3068.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97