In The Night--original poetry

in #poetry6 years ago

delicate-arch-896885_1920.jpg
Source


In The Night


In the night, I cannot see Your hand
But I feel its gentle press on the small of my back
Urging me forward toward tomorrow.
In the night, I cannot see Your lips
But I hear your whisper in the depths of my soul
Beckoning me to follow the echo.
In the night, I cannot see Your footprints
But I smell Your perfume-anointed feet ahead of me
Enticing me to pursue You.
In the night, I cannot see Your gifts
But I taste the milk and honey dripping from my lips
Convincing me of Your goodness and favor.
In the night, I cannot see You
But I sense with all of my spirit
That what I know to be true in the light of day
Remains to be true and more richly experienced
In the night


Written while doing a Daniel Fast during a period of time where I was believing God for a blessing, amidst contradictory circumstances in my life.


Hi Friends! Thanks For Reading!


received_1828048737268297.jpeg


I'm a CrossFit Level 1 Trainer at CrossFit Edwardsville in Edwardsville, IL, USA. I've been coaching and inspiring athletes to better health and fitness for over five years. It's my desire to bring together the Fitness Community on Steemit in order to have a greater impact on improving the health and fitness of our fellow Steemians. I'm also a mother of two teens and a self-defined “spicy, sassy Christ-follower” who posts about my personal journey, but loves all those on any journey. Feel free to check out my intro post, get inspired on your fitness journey, or ponder on my faith-based posts. If any of this connects with you, follow me and say Hello! Happy Steeming!

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing this moving poem. I found it inspiring.

I'm so glad that you did. Thank you!

This is so lovely it's bringing tears to my eyes. I'm not a Christian, but this still spoke right to my heart! Faith is a beautiful thing when it inspires us to trust, to keep evolving, and to persevere even in the hardest times.

Thank you, @katrina-ariel! When you share a poem, people are peering into your soul and it's a vulnerable and scary thing to allow; I'm so glad that it moved you cuz you're one of my favs ;)

What an amazing poem! It definitely tugged at my heart strings while I read it. I could visualize walking on a dark path, but knowing I'm safe because I have guidance.

Thank you @keciah! I was so hoping that people would feel this. I'm glad you felt safe :)

Very deep and thought-provoking. I look forward to your future poems. It can provide inspiration through out the day.

Thank you @ablaire. I appreciate it, but your food posts just might be MORE inspiring. Lol

Lovely spiritual poem @coachjj. Blessings.

Thank you @redheadpei. Bless you too!

If I would guess what you are describing is God. I could be wrong though. I do that occasionally. lol

Never mind I was right this time.. lol Read this after:

"Written while doing a Daniel Fast during a period of time where I was believing God for a blessing, amidst contradictory circumstances in my life."

And, I know how you feel. Sometimes we feel he is not there, but he is even though we don't see it or feel it sometimes. And, he is inside of us, part of us, and our part of him. He is always THERE. :)

Great poem, my friend. Best ones comes from life experiences and from the heart and I can definitely "feel" you on this one. Awesome job. :)

Amen!

And, he is inside of us, part of us, and our part of him. He is always THERE. :)

Thank you @awakentolife! I'm so glad you could "feel" it; that makes my heart happy 😁

I think all can feel it really. But, some choose to ignore it. Even, I did for a long time. Not anymore. :)

@coachjj, so true... day and night... gladly, we can't escape.

Yes, gladly there's nowhere I can go that He's not there! Thanks for sharing!

Arches National park as a backdrop and a wonderful poem. Should have probably read it in my bed for the full expirience, but it resonates just as well at 12 am, while drinking coffee in my flip flops. 😁
Great job.

Thank you! 12am, drinking coffee in your flip flops sounds like a pretty cool way to enjoy it too. Glad you did :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 55 (2/24/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65156.13
ETH 3530.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48