The Stairs: Poetry - Another Proud Mother Daughter Moment :)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

The Stairs

stair case.jpg

We went on a little holiday
When we were all still together
They let us in the flash Hotel
They’ll rue that day forever

One morning after waking
Only Amy and I up early
We went investigating our surrounds
So as not to awaken them surly

We walked up to the lobby
Up a great big flight of stairs
And tripped up on the very top step
An inch taller to catch us unawares

At the top there was a couch
And right then we both could see
That if we sat there quietly
Entertained we both would be!

couch.jpg

Sure enough an unknowing victim
Came up that set of stairs
They kicked that step and then looked back
And gave it deathly glares

Next person came up running
Right up that big stair case
We waited knowing what was coming
They fell right upon their face

tripped over.jpg

Amy and I just sat there
We couldn’t believe our luck
We dried our eyes and readied ourselves
For when the next shoe struck

Up they came in twos and threes
Every time until the last
They tripped and slipped and stumbled
On their way up to breakfast

We laughed so hard we couldn’t breathe
For what must have been an hour
We tried our best to keep it hidden
But got many looks that were sour

laughing.jpg

We knew we shouldn’t laugh at people
Their misfortune wasn’t that funny
But the memories we got that day
Were worth far more than money

The End

Images thanks to Clip-art Library

Please feel free to comment as all feedback is welcome
Other Poetry You May Like
Driving Lessons
Docking Disaster
The cough
Calf Day Saga
Please Remember to Upvote - Resteems are Appreciated 😎

Sort:  

Outstanding! You've left me smiling, thanks. ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Aww thank you so much - My daughter was about 11 or 12 (Now 25) at the time but we still look back and laugh at this experience. :)

It has been a favourite pass time of mine, get a cup of coffee, sit somewhere that I can watch the passing parade of people, on a gusty corner is always fun.

Hahaha yes indeed - I have been the victim of Wellingtons wind on occasion - have been seen clinging to a crossing pole once lmao :)

That is how pole dancing was invented, wasn't it? Someone grabbed a pole on the way by and then tried to get their feet back on the ground.
fun to watch.

Haha you're probably right - then thought that was great exercise I'll go round again :D

What a grand mother-daughter story!

Thank you for commenting - it surely was a great morning :)

Laughing at others misfortune is funny at times lol another funny one :)

Hahaha I forgive myself since it happened to me too :D

Lol Still funny to watch others. . as long as they don't hurt themselves of course haha

OMG! That is so funny. Totally what I would do.
Did you warn anyone or just sit and watch?

Warn people???? We sat and watched :D

this was hilarious!!! oh my gosh - if i could have been there too! we would have stayed 2 hours hahahahahaha

i used to laugh a LOT more at people falling - but as i get older, i think i have more pity. hahahahaha

Haha you're right there! I dread falling over these days lol scared of breaking a hip lol

my daughter and i would have been in stitches!!! LOLOL

my hubby fell the other day - and i was like oh noooooooo. did he hit his head?
and my daughter got out.. "are you okkkk" and that was it - she laughed for 10 minutes hahahahahahahaa

he was ok. ;)

Hahaha soo mean I love it!!! Yip me and Amy are like that :)

so so mean. LOL
and he broke his fall with my stupid cooking tongs and crushed them!

and when my daughter saw that - she laughed even harder.

i'm like THESE COST $15!!!!!

she didn't care. hm. teenagers.

oh come on - there's a poem in there for sure - there's a challenge for you - a limerick poking fun at him..... you have 10 mins .....GO!

ok my computer shut off because i was too lazy to get off the couch and grab my cord. and when i realized it wasn't playing around anymore - it was too late. LOL
so... i'm reading this NOW. and you wrote it 8 minutes ago.... so - i have 10 minutes from NOW

OK HAHAHA
here ya go

twas a fire alarm on the ceiling
that caused my poor hubby to go reeling
he fell with a thud
no breaks, and no blood
but my daughter had a fit full of squealing.

hahahahaha that was 6 minutes???

Excellent!!! Here's mine
My husband and I got along
Until he ruined my tongs
He fell over, the prat
And squashed them flat
Thank god they didn't have prongs
hehe


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Oh dear, one can just imagine that scenario!

Another brilliant piece. :D

Aww thanks - this might be one I share with pennsif :)

Haha sounds like a blast :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62753.87
ETH 2445.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67