Poetry: Driving Lessons - A Memory From the Past

in #poetry7 years ago

red car 1.gif

Driving Lessons

The honda was a paddock car
Bought for driving lessons
Grandad said that he would teach her
Aww that was sweet, bless him

In first gear they started fine
Inching down the lane
Amy pushing all the buttons
Driving grandad insane

The ground was rather lumpy
They juddered along the grass
Grandads teeth were chattering
And the chair was leaving his arse
grass 3.gif

He had a death grip on the handle
As if it would somehow save him
“Flaming heck Amy please slow down”
“I’m only in second” the answer she gave him

Up and down the paddock
The little red car drove her
When the lesson came to an end
Grandad was glad it was over

Telling this story reminded me
Of a lesson years before
When Grandad tutored me just once
And then he was out the door

old man.jpg

Images thanks to Clip-art Library

Please feel free to comment as all feedback is welcome
Other Poetry You May Like
Docking Disaster
The cough
Calf Day Saga
Please Remember to Upvote - Resteems are Appreciated 😎

Sort:  

Bravo! Well done!

You've reminded me of this:

If you have the chance to listen, you'll see why I remembered this song... ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Hahaha yes indeed 2nd gear - that was quite funny - I've not heard of that before! Thanks for visiting :)

Well said, I feel for Grandad.
I know 4 kids doubled the cigarette consumption.

Hahaha I bet they did!! Need nerves of steel!

Nah, "Just stop while I roll another smoke", it is a wonder they could still breath

The problem was ... the car was a Honda!

Wash your mouth out lol - As it happens I'm pretty sure that car is still running around Masterton - When Amy sold it, it had done over 350k kms and that was 5 years ago. Pretty dam impressive!

bwahahahaha ;)

Lol you're too funny - I wouldn't look anything like that - the racing suit wouldn't fit!!!!

Haha very good. My driving lessons were much the same :)

I ended up teaching myself lol - In the middle of the night on the motorways!

Wow That was brave lol

I had my first driving lesson from Mum (Grandma) in her rickety old Morrie Minor on the Wellington motorway (what was she thinking?). I think "slow down" might have been amongst the words she shrieked as well...

Lmao - she really took her life in to her hands that day

I'm not sure, but I think you and Neville might have been in the back seat! (No, surely not?)

Haha! Poor grandad. But it was nice of him to teach Amy to drive. Sounds like they both ended up doing all right!

Haha nope he only ever did that one lesson - just the same as he did with me!

Well, at least he tried! haha!

Love the poem. I never knew my grandfathers but my Dad was a nervous wreck. :)

Grandads go to was clutching the door handle and demanding to slow down whenever we went anywhere! Such a baby lol

nice post. really deep poetry.

Learning stick is tough. Thanks for this life lesson.

Lol you're welcome!

One of the first times I drove with my learners permit I drove with my Mom to a friends house, right near the local police station.Everything went fine, no lights, smooth sailing - until the traffic light right in front of the police station. I had to turn right when the light went green - but it was the first time I;d had to turn from a stop, and I WAY over steered - and ended up in a panic and partly on a lawn on the opposite side of the street before I came to a stop. Of course my Mom screaming didn't help my nerves lol Thankfully it seemed no cops noticed, I mean who pulls something like that RIGHT in front of the police station? lol Got off the lawn, and slowly made it to my friends lol

Oh no!!! At least they weren't looking out the window at that moment lmao I can hear your mother screaming like something off a tv show

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62753.87
ETH 2445.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67