Poetry: Docking Disaster - Another Attempt at Humour

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Docking Disaster

It was the middle of Spring
On a peaceful Kiwi Farm
But the lambs all needed docking
Which would indeed spoil the calm

The ewes were to be herded
Right up into the pens
Their lambs at foot, pacing
Will they make it?... Depends

sheep (2).jpg

The Huntaways are barking
At the top of their voices
The heading dogs are eyeing
Giving the ewes few choices

I sat up on the bank
Overlooking the entire scene
With my infant daughter
Both of us watching .... serene

At first things seemed all good
Everything was going to plan
But it all started to go south
And then shit hit the fan

The lambs had all been following
Trotting sedately at first
They suddenly all decided
That those pens must be cursed

They bolted first left
Then off to the right
Scattering in all directions
It was quite a funny sight

The men were leaping up and down
Their hats slapping on knees
Screaming loud expletives
Giving the dogs their pedigrees

The lambs swirled round in circles
Like a cyclone you can't ignore
Then going back and forth
Like frothy waves upon the shore

We found this entertaining
We clapped our hands with glee
The farmers were all furious
And now they're mad at me!

sheep 2.png

Images thanks to Clip-art Library

Please feel free to comment as all feedback is welcome
Other Poetry you may like
The cough
Calf Day Saga
Please Remember to Upvote - Resteems are Appreciated 😎

Sort:  

Very nice. I can picture the scene in my mind, lambs swirling like a cyclone... Thanks for sharing!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you very much for coming to look :) As you can see I'm a absolute novice - but I'm enjoying working with words like this :)

As it can really happen. Strange that they don't show that on Country Calendar.
Have been a member of the hat wielding brigade a few times.

Lol me too!! On that occasion they didn't appreciate me laughing ....... ooops :D

Funny how most people can't stand being laughed at.
Hard luck, laugh louder.

Have you considered being a pro blogger?

I thought jumping from farming to blogging on Steemit would be a big learning curve, but you are like a duck to water!

Thank you! Lol I guess I have stuff to say and I haven't had the chance to say it before. Cute Duck btw! Now I have to work on getting more people to read what it is that I have to say.....

Haha.. I enjoyed imgining it.. Good shoot.. Miseabke condition of men..Have a nice day..

Lol it was actually pretty awful - I got yelled at - but watching was fun :)

Those wily sheep! Great poem and it was indeed funny!

Lol thanks - You're seeing my first attempts at poetry - I'm pleased you liked it :)

haha, what a dag! :D

Hehehe sheep, men and dogs - what could possibly go wrong???

I like your clip-art pics. Funny and cute poem @andysantics

Aww thank you :)

Congratulations @andysantics48! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I really enjoyed reading about this docking disaster @andysantics I can picture the scene vividly and know I would be laughing too. Nice to meet you. Following for more of your antics. Which part of N.Z. do you live in?

Thanks for the support and follow - I'm in Dannevirke - Where are you?

You're very welcome. I was born in Hamilton and moved to Whangarei as a teenager. My husband and I moved to Redcliffe, Australia 29 years ago. We love it here my I love my homeland too. I have a sister who lives in Whanganui which is in your vicinity I believe?

It's at about the same level but I'm on the east coast and Whanganui is on the West :)

Oh.......I was way out there wasn't I? It must be time to return for an extended holiday (:

Very good and funny, made me laugh :)

Haha I'm so glad - I'm quite enjoying writing them :)

I enjoy reading them :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64