Poetry: My Questions in Life

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Please play the music while you read.

My Questions in Life

Why is it
Kids feel it’s ok to be mean
To kick and punch
When they can’t be seen

Why is it
That they want to insult
To name call
And subject others to verbal assault

Why is it
That yelling abuse is considered the norm
And they act as if
They don’t have to conform

Why is it
That no one is looking at society
Trying to figure out
What’s causing the anxiety

Why is it
That we are persecuted
For who we choose to love
Because you feel its unsuited

Why is it ok
To attack on the internet
Hiding behind the screen
And not showing any respect

Why is it
That people don’t lift each others souls
Make them feel loved
Accepted and whole

Why is it
We let dollars decide
Who gets the best
Of what money can buy

Why is it
We need to prey on the weak
Shouting them down
Instead of letting them speak

Why is it OK
To watch our youth die
Being so badly hurt
They commit suicide

I hope one day
The answers will come
And everyone that's been bullied
Will once again feel welcome

Thank you for stopping by

You may also like...

First Sight of Winter

Grandma's Antics

Connections

Sort:  

So very powerful Andy!!! You have me in tears with this one!! I'm so very proud of you!! I'm extremely honored to be able to call you my friend!!

ditto. so powerful. and so proud Andygirl - two of the three amigas are beaming with pride for you ;)

Thank you so much I appreciate you :)

Already gave you a vote with another account (@thealliance) as my voting power is real low and virtually wortless lol BUT, did want to come back and express my appreciation for a great poetic work.

Thank you - I really appreciate your comment! I was nearly too scared to post this - but I'm glad I did - It bared my soul a wee bit an made me cry when I read it out loud to myself :)

This is so beautiful, real and raw. You wrote this so well, the emotions can't help but to come. You touched on real life issues that need to be addressed. I always enjoy your poetry anyway, you had me hooked a while ago on the one about you having the flu!

Thank you for your comments - it means a lot to me :D As I said above it would be awesome to just get someone to change their behaviour and be kinder and more tolerant. We are not all the same :) Thank you for following - the flu poem was pretty funny hehe

It has the power behind it to do just that. I love this one. The flu one was very funny! Not for you I am sure having to deal with it but at least you found some humor.

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful piece and finding suitable music to accompany it! Very thought provoking and well executed.

I also loved that... even after I finished the poem - i let the music play and let it sink in! nice choice of music too @andysantics48!

Thank you for coming to read it - I would really like to spread this around and get people talking and thinking about what I've written - Please people just be kind to one another :)

Wow. This is sincere... some serious questions. I spent the afternoon yesterday in a training course for abuse counseling. I was surprised at the amount of victims who put the blame on themselves. I just felt kind of sick afterwards.

It's amazing that after so many years we are still drawn down by this nature. Thanks for sharing.

I so agree!!!! so many people who are abused don't even see it for what it is. It's so sad that abuse doesn't just leave physical marks (that can eventually - hopefully - fade) but the marks on our soul and our spirit.... that take so much longer to be resolved.

This is your best @andysantics48

Yes it was sincere and heart felt - Sometimes I just shake my head at what society is becoming and I just don't understand the nastiness of people.

Really Beautiful!

Upvote and Follwed

Raw and true yet still poetic. Well done sir

Thank you :) It was from the heart!

Reading it with the music invokes such a strong emotion.

Such loss of life and potential for life when people think that they have no other options.

Yes I feel quite strongly about the youth suicide rates - soo unnecessary for it to be so bad!! Thank you for reading! :)

so powerful and so true and a perfect selection of music to listen to while reading

Thank you I hope lots of people see it and hear what I'm saying - things have to change!! Thanks for stopping by @tattoojay - it's nice to see another kiwi!

Let me resteem it so it gets a little more visibility

always great to see another Kiwi on here :)

Awww thank you for the resteem :)

Most welcome 😎👍😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44