Poetry: First Sight of Winter

in #poetry6 years ago

IMG_0684.JPG

On my way back home from Wellington last Friday morning I was surprised to see the amount of really early snow that had fallen on the Tararua ranges. It makes my eyes happy when I get the first sight of this stunning view.

I couldn't resist stopping to take a few pictures.

Please excuse the poor quality of the photos - I didn't have my camera but did have a phone that doesn't take great pics.

IMG_0691 (2).JPG

First Sight of Winter

Autumn's only half way done
But Mother Nature thinks it's fun
To dump a load of snow on us
So people passing make a fuss

It's always nice to take a pew
To sit quietly and enjoy the view
Of the white caps on the high hilltop
They always make a stunning backdrop

IMG_0689.JPG

Images are my own.

Thanks for stopping by

You May also Like.....

Grandma's Antics

Connections

Victory

Sort:  

Here in holland the winter just ended!

You will be looking forward to the warmer weather :)

This comment has received a 0.14 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @woutersbit.

Awesome :) Poem and Pictures :) Love it. Welcome to Poets United. We are happy to have you with us. :)

Aww thank you very much :) Hehe the pictures were not good but I will try to get better one next time I pass :)

I love the seasons that change from opposite poles. It shows me how human nature works as well... paradoxically.

Yea it's good to see the changes happen on the other side lol - makes things interesting :)

The mountains are beautiful with their white caps. Do you get snow down where you are?

They are beautiful and the pics don't do them justice. I do get snow where I am in the winter but not yet. We had a really cold storm last week - it showed what we are in for later lol

If it's snow you want, we'll gladly send all of winter your way. :-)
On this side of the world, Winter has become like an unwanted guest who overstayed his visit. The mountains are beautiful. If that was my view, I should be quite pleased to see winter.

Snow is a novelty at this time of year :) Yea your season seem to be dragging out - spring will arrive soon though :)

I love the pics Andy!! And your poem, it amazes me how this just comes to you like it does. You are living life and taking us for a ride trough your poetry... and I have enjoyed every minute!!

Awww you're soo sweet.... hehe it amazes me too - I'm glad you like it :)

Waoo andy so so beautiful pics.. Mountains are looking stunning..
Here summer is spreading its wings..
Beautiful poetry also.. Love the words

Thank you for coming to visit - It sure is pretty :)

Amazing view Andy. I can see why you stopped to admire the beauty of the mountain range. Your poetry always superb.
We are at opposite poles and going into the warmer seasons now..

Aww thanks :) Yes that view is so lovely. The mountain range is always there but when it snows they come alive.


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik. Photo credits @lordnigel.

Autumn's only half way done
But Mother Nature thinks it's fun

I like it !

Thank you:) That verse woke me in the early hours of the morning - I had to get up and write the post at 4am lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45