Like Fragile Things

in #poem6 years ago

Hey Steemit

I know that the world has evolved on it's take on women's rights, yet it has a long way to go. Often when I ride through the smaller nooks of India I think of my experience as a privilege rather than a right of my freewill because I meet those who are deprived of it. Usually the women are deprived of education and their life revolves around the household responsibilities and she takes them up as a daughter and carries on when being passed on as a wife. I value my freewill even more dearly when I see them looking at me from the corner of their eyes through their sheer stoles around their face. The poem 'Like Fragile Things' is my imagination of their thoughts.

Like Fragile Things

For the longest time I thought I was made of clay

I held strong against the heat and water seeped through me, nay.

Sometimes I was molded into an object of affection

But mostly confined, to not cause any friction.

"My angel, no harm shall come to you"

Were mere words and a few

It means nothing when I stare down at my burnt fingers and brittle feet

And hear the taunts that ensue.

Entitled to only stolen glances

My freewill was theirs

Passed on like fragile things

But expected to prance.

------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for reading and stay tuned for more blogs

If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You can also check my recent posts:

1.Infinity War was finite fun

2.A weekday breakfast ride to a Biker Cafe!

3.Passion and a lifestyle: Women bikers are geared up for the high road

4.Bikergirl races on the Buddh International Circuit

5.A Marvel Extravaganza

Sort:  

hey @bikergirl, your poem is very moving and reflects what millions of women in India feel.

It brings out the sad state of women in our country and shows that their dreams and aspirations fade away with age and they get stuck to the rut of life.

I hope your poem reaches a wide audience :)

Thank you so much @sourcedexter, Really appreciate your words

Hello bikergirl!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

That's wonderful poem.i like poem.
I appreciate your writing.
Thanks for sharing wonderful post.
Keep it up 😎

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63956.43
ETH 3320.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92