Playwright Workshop?

Deep Dreamed Playwright Workshop image.

As I mentioned in a previous post, I'm trying to put together another creative workshop for the PALnet Discord Server.

Originally, it was focused on screenwriting, but @swelker101 made a brilliant point (when I was a guest on the Shane and Muxxy Show) that comic book creators could find a nice workshopping home there as well -- since they also start with a script. Taking it even further, audio and stage playwrights could too.

The primary focus would still be on the writing side of things, but we could certainly grow to include storyboarding, set designs, costumes, sound effects, and so on if that's desired.

The workshop-that-doesn't-yet-exist has already evolved. So...

Calling all playwrights of screen, stage, audio, and page -- Would anyone be interested in a Playwright Workshop? Comment below if so. Have a friend that might find this interesting? Send 'em on over! ^_^



Thanks for your curiosity!
~PegasusPhysics ^_^


Image processed with the Deep Dream Generator.

Sort:  

I'm interested too! I wrote a screenplay last year, more for fun than anything else, but I'm really into plays, so that might be really interesting.

Brilliant! Welcome! ^_^
What was the screenplay about?

Thank you! It was a very Pythonesque story...I've always been into comedy, especially British comedy, so I kinda let that inspire me. I loved it 'cause it was more of an experiment, so I was uninhibited and it came out great :))

Love all of that! Both Monty Python and Little Britain stopped my world when I stumbled upon them. And Sean of the Dead will always have a special place in my zombie-loving heart. ^_^
Did you ever get a chance to bring that screenplay to life?

Me too! I've been trying to watch the whole Little Britain for some time now, but haven't gotten the time to do it. I definitely will though. Have you seen Bottom? I was hooked on it when I wrote that play.
Sadly, no, but I certainly will one day.

Oh! Love Little Britain! That's where I got "Oh, he was gorgeous!" but hardly anyone catches the reference when I say it. ^_^;

Maybe just watch it bit by bit. I binged all of it that I could get my digital hands on and was sad when it was over lol.

I haven't seen Bottom. I'll have to look into that.

If you ever need actors, wink wink, nudge nudge, say no more ^_^

Ha! As it happens, I was just saying that I don't have the actors and the resources to direct the plays I'd like to direct, but I must admit I was thinking about my screenplay as well :D

Yes, you definitely must check out Bottom. It's life-changing. For me, The Young Ones was what started that whole mew phase in my life (Monty Python were already an old love by then)....and once I saw that, I was addicted. Rik Mayall is one of my gods now.
And yes, Little Britain is on my immediate watchlist as I am currently out of shows to binge. And what is life without a good binge?

Love a good binge. ^_^

Funny, I was just thinking about ways one could bring a stage play to life in a digital medium... And of course: Voice actors and animation!

But instead of animating it like it's a screenplay, actually make the setting a stage... animate the set changes... have the character obey stage directions, etc.
Ooo, even record the voice actors all in one take as if it's an actual stage performance! (that might be difficult to pull off, though)

Sort of a hybrid medium, I guess?
I wonder if someone has done this with a whole play yet... I know I've seen it done with bits of plays in video games and cartoons... Hmm... I may have to look into that...

On a different note, things are rolling along with the workshop. I just need to find two people to help moderate the channel. Would you be interested in helping with that?

I've never even dabbled in this kind of writing, but always wondered what was involved. Here is one total noob who's interested! All I'll have are questions, to begin with - but over time I might be able to add something to the group!

And both you and your questions would be most welcome! Hi @jonknight! Nice to meet ya! ^_^

Pleased to be here! I'll be on the lookout for more information. So far, I've found membership in the fiction workshop to be invaluable! This should be great!

Oh! You're that @jonknight! I think we've crossed paths there once or twice. Silly me. ^_^;

I am a playwrite with two stage productions to date. So yes I would be interested. So let's talk here or in discord. Let me know how I can be apart of what you are doing @pegasusphysics and thank you for all you do, your creative zone is off the charts (in a good way).

Thank you. I'm blushing a little now, lol
You're welcome to message me on discord (same name), I'm usually lurking in the Fiction Workshop channel.
I'd love to hear about your productions! ^_^

Hello, MAP26 has started! Please go to "Six of the Best" MAP26 Minnow Contest [Vote Now - Win Upvotes]. As you are a participant, please look at the suggestions to get the most out of the contest, especially creating a comment showcasing your best recent work. Good luck!

And don't forget, you are now a MAP Member and you can get further inspiration and assistance at the MAP Members Only Discord chatroom.

Sweet! I was preparing to post the first scene of the screenplay I'm writing, so I'll post my comment as soon as that's up! ^_^

I think maybe @jordan.lesich might be interested in this... he's a great writer and his area is screenwriting. I would be interested, too, for that matter!

@geke is right. This definitely something I would go for.

Yay! Welcome. ^_^

Sweet! I think we're really close to having enough people to launch it. ^_^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 60836.70
ETH 3352.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50