Plantbreeding@home Update #3: A Wild Seedling Appears XD

Everyday before I go to my work I have a look at the pots I have set for the Plantbreeding@home experiment. Everyday I look at them and every day I get dissapointed because all I see is the same boring soil and some occasional weeds. But today was a different day :D 

Today, after 17 days that seemed like an eon the first seedling started to push out of the ground. It was barely visible but it was there!

I don't know if I have told you, but everytime I see a seedling struggling to come out I remember this scene:

Come on little one! Push!

And here's how the seedling looked at 11:00 pm, about 16 hours later:

I guess by tomorrow the cotyledons (the embryonic leaves) will be out of the ground and soon more pepper plants will soon follow. I will keep you updated :D

In the meantime, here are the my two previous Plantbreeding@home posts:

And here's some more info about the plantbreeding@home project:

What Is PlantBreeding@home?

PlantBreeding@home is a community project run on Steemit to enable everyone willing to participate in the creation of a new plant variety. @dysprosium is the one who came up with the idea, inspired by Gridcoin which awards people cryptocoins (gridcoins) for running BOINC on their computers. After some thinking, it was decided that for the first round of Plantbreeding@home the participants will grow (or at least try) a new pepper variety, one that is small and sweet. @dysprosium is also kind enough to offer steem and gridcoins to the people participating in the project if they successfully follow all his instruction :D

Here's the first parent, a super small pepper with a flavor that is more intense than a typical Jalapeno. The fruits are barely 1 cm long. The chilliness is something we hope to remove:

And here's the second parent,  a sweet variety producing  small bell peppers:

Hopefully, we will end up with a variety that is  small and sweet. Will we succeed? Time will tell :)And that's pretty much the summary for the plantbreeding@home. For even more info, just read the official updates by @dysprosium:

Feel free to contact @dysprosium if you want to participate in the experiment! 

Sort:  

Awesome! It’s a nice feeling when you see your plantings start to sprout and grow. I’m hoping that I’m able to take participate in this too. But I haven’t heard back from @dysprosium yet

Kladeba sto grafeio simera:
0B6B9F9A-4034-4E45-BF10-8CCCA96141C4.jpeg

C54CE048-96D0-4F30-A4FE-96017B5EFEF3.jpeg

Well let me upvote you to top then! Hopefully @dysprosium will see your message :D

Hey @hrissm,

I saw and registered your wish of participation, currently I am figuring out how to send seeds to the various international states. This is awfully complicated... -.- (Turns out, sending seeds and potentially messing up the different ecosystems is not wanted by the different governments, therefore the restrictions are quite demanding, even for harmless varieties ;) )

I will update you all this weekend, I want to ship the seeds to you as soon as possible! So much for now: I already found a solution for

-Canada
-USA (I will need an US - resident to help me, more on the update)
-Switzerland

I am still not sure about:

-Africa
-Russia

Sorry for the delay, I know you are waiting for the seeds. I am in contact with the customs - office, but often they only know the most complicated way (with officials giving a "phytosanitary" certificate to guarantee that the seeds are ok etc.; this is the most costly and time consuming way as one has to wait for weeks, but buried deep in the regulations I found better solutions!) I think I can apply as customs officer after this.... :P

More on the update!

Awesome! Thanks for the update! Let me know if you need help. Feel free to contact me on discord or via email!

Cheers!

This is so amazing! I would love to try this. I LOVE gardening and always start almost all of my plants, veg, herbaceous perrenial , shrub cuttings, myself.

I currently have window sills full of plants waiting for warm weather to go into my garden ( I even have come cukes already forming because I couldn't wait to plant and started them too early in January, but they are doing quite well)
I found you thanks to @ruth-girl and was just excited to see the seedling photos that pulled me in and then I read how you are trying to create new varieties. What would I have to do to participate?

Are you spending the night by your pots? To keep them warm with your body and feed them some of your love?

Hey @trumpman,

yay, the firstborn! :) That has to be the magic of the pepper dicks... :P

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16