Interesting Items Seen At The World's Longest Yard Sale!

in #photos7 years ago (edited)

The World's Longest Yard Sale takes place on the first weekend of August. It spans from Michigan to Alabama and takes place on State Route 127.

We live less than an hour from 127 and a tradition began about 9 or 10 years ago for my wife's birthday. She is a yard sale and thrift store junkie(she comes by it honestly...LOOKING AT YOU FATHER-IN-LAW) and we celebrate every year by attending.

She truly looks forward to it and begins saving for it at the beginning of every summer.

Below are pictures of some of the more interesting things we saw on our 10 hour yard sale-ing(<---trust me, it's a word in the South) adventure. The kids wanted to go with their grandparents this year, so we had the whole day to ourselves!


I took this picture for @barrydutton, because I know he is a Star Wars Fan. It's a Star Wars stoplight!



This is a 1955 Chevrolet Belair. Cars from the 50's and 60's were some of the best years for car styles IMO.


Do you remember when the Corvette Museum had the sinkhole incident? Here is a piece of carpet from the fiasco!


Need a Smoker/Grill in the shape of a Bull? Smoke comes out of its horns when you have this baby fired up!


An interesting piece. The shells definitely add some character!


If you really love Smokey the Bear, you could have had him in your living room!


This vintage hair dryer could really come in handy as my hair is getting longer! If you have long hair and are planning on cutting it...don't forget you can donate it for a good cause. @nepd is also running the hairshares initiative to promote cancer awareness. There are many updates and even a donation jackpot on his blog!


There is always beautiful furniture at the yard sales. The piece my wife is standing in front of is at least 8 feet tall!




Need some sweet transportation? A bike with a combustible engine!


The guy that makes this wood art is at the yard sale every year. These are all made with a chainsaw,chisels, and a grinder. He is usually making pieces, but when we were browsing he was having to keep an eye on his stuff, because at least three pieces had been stolen that day and it was only nine o'clock in the morning!


The lady who owned this said it was created "to make people happy".Does it make you happy?


A hand cranked wheelchair! Could you imagine the "guns" one would have after powering theirself around with this baby!?


I knew some of my fellow Steemians would like the premise of this homemade cane, so I had to snap a picture of it!


This is called a crawler bulldozer and it's the biggest one I have ever seen in person. I'm like a big kid when it comes to seeing toys like these and I, of course, had to take a picture with it.


VIDEO

I hope you saw something interesting!

All pictures by @lexikon082



OFFICIAL HOME OF THE FIRST EVER LOONEY COIN

Article explaining inspiration

I mostly story post about my sobriety, family, effects of war, and the crazier parts of my life. However, if it interests me I may just Steem about it! Steem on Steemians!

Awesome Veteran Logo designed by @guiltyparties

Community Challenge Logo used with permission by @merej99

Sort:  

10 hours! Wow, that's hardcore... Impressive! Looks like y'all had fun and had a nice 'just us' time.

I'd have lasted maybe 2 and then would have whined for food.

;~D

You better believe we got food! It's part of the experience. We had cuisine that I will regret in 30 years with heart problems, lol. It was nice to have "us" time.

Threw this together just for you. It's only a minute... or so

Awesome!!! Made me hungry just listening to the toppings... all the stuff I avoid (post-stroke) - meat, cheese, sour cream. ALL favorites! Yum! I would go off base for a day for those, tho...

What heart problems? Drop your keys again and you won't get that far! Knucklehead making me laugh at that... you crack me up!

I feel kind of bad now. Don't need you going off the food wagon.

Lol, yeah the keys. When they dropped, I kicked em. My mother would tell you I drop EVERYTHING. Every time I see her she so kindly reminds me. Somehow I always manage to drop things around her still...like...oh I don't know...drinks.

No worries... It's great to see other folks enjoying it! I do stray now & then, but I keep the portions small. A taste here and there is enough, plus it seems to make it taste better. Lol!

Oh, good! Don't need you getting squished. Mothers are good at reminding us of stuff we'd rather they forget. I think once that switch gets turned on, there's no off button. ;~P

Who doesn't need a piece of sinkhole carpet? You'd be a fool not to buy it.

I was truly disappointed there were no matching curtains to go with it.

Carpet and drapes matching is pretty rare these days.

I will behave myself. But yes, I agree with you.

Hey Lex,
It's @biglipsmama, using the @thecurator account.
This is something that has to go on the bucket list, 10 hours of shopping how did you guys do it, and I love shopping, but don't think I would even last that long.

We are seasoned veterans, lol! We use to do this with the kids when they were in strollers.

You definitely have to go. It's a lot of fun.

Would have to skip a few oceans to get there, but would like to do it if we ever get the chance to visit America.
I nearly forgot to ask you that we also liked your post that we would like to put it in a issue of curtar if that was acceptable by you?

Would have to skip a few oceans to get there.

We need a teleportation machine, like now!

It would be an honor to be in an edition of The Curator! Thank you so much for asking.

haha that would be great to have a teleportation machine we could visit all the Steemians no worries.

Fabulous Thank you so much it will hopefully be in an issue going out tomorrow, just finished today's one.

Mate! A lot of effort posting all of those neat findings up here. Thanks! Love the"gun-maker" wheelchair in particular.

You seem to be enjoying life and look positive especially when enjoying quality time with your family. Happy for you 😃

You are very welcome! It did take quite a while, but it made the yard sale that much more fun.

You know, I looked up "gun-maker" wheelchair because I thought maybe it was the name of it , lol.


I do enjoy life with my family. They are usually able to bring me out of funks that I may be in. My wife has been a rock and she is absolutely wonderful.

Wives are great like that. ... oh and it's safe to say that after seeing your reply. .. I HAVE A NEW FAVOURITE CHAIR!

The bike and wheelchair were both supercool. Thanks for the fun pics. I used to go to one similar in Nova Scotia. It was called something like "50 mile yard sale." Anyone know the real name? Was years ago but I know they still do it there.

Makes the effort really worth it when people genuinely like the pictures. I looked up the "50 Mile Yard Sale" and it seems to be the actual name of the event.

What a guess. I must be tired as I didn't even think to Google it. Your post brought back good memories so I will blame it on that distraction.

I'll gladly take the blame on the distraction if it was the cause of good memories!-).

I live in michigan and didn't even know about this. I will check it out. thanks

You are very welcome. It's definitely worth the time and energy to attend!

Yea I am following you now to see what else I can find out. LOL

Thanks for the follow. Never really know what might be posted on this blog.

Yea no problem this is why I am here to check out what other people are up to.
Check out my new post


Titanfall on my phone?!?

Lots of interesting and amusing stuff in your photos. Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing.

You are very welcome for the share @hope777!

Can't believe I missed this! My wife and I go yard saleing every weekend. We love it!

Thanks for sharing, @lexikon082.

You are very welcome @drrobinson. Yard saleing is a blast! Great to read there are other Steemiasn that enjoy it also.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62954.14
ETH 3466.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51