Introducing the Hairshares Project: Let's Make Someone's DaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #hairshares7 years ago (edited)


(Image via @crimsonclad)

Every part of you is valuable... down to every last strand of hair on your head.

I was approached not long ago by @officialfuzzy to take the lead of a cause near and dear to both of our hearts: hair. My wife's late mother, who died of cancer not long before we were married, wore a wig after losing her hair due to the effects of chemotherapy.


(14 inches)

Ever since, my wife - whose hair grows like it had a mind of its own - has donated her hair about every 18-24 months. She routinely cuts off 10 to 16 inches of her hair at a time to send in to donate. Here is a tutorial on how to donate for the Hairshares project.

The gift of your hair can keep a smile on someone's face that really needs it... and a smile can be a very important tool when fighting cancer, alopecia or any other reason that one may lose their hair.

If you have questions, I'll be speaking about Hairshares at the WhaleTank / Beyond Bitcoin hangout this Friday. Feel free to vote for my RSVP to move me up the list! Read the official post for more details.


I'd like you to join our project - Hairshares - to help those in need of wigs, to raise awareness around the various places you can donate and to reward those willing and able to donate their hair.

Here is how you can help.


If you or a friend/family member would like to donate your hair and be rewarded:

Create a post detailing your donation, using the "hairshares" tag
Take pictures/videos with the date/Steemit Logo
Tell us where you are donating the hair
You will be rewarded with upvotes, resteems and Bitshares Assets like Whaleshares, BeyondBits, Hairshares.

If you'd like to help reward Hairshares donators:

Upvote and Resteem Hairshares posts
Consider creating your own Whaleshares token to give to donators
Consider delegating SP in support of Hairshares

If you'd like to raise awareness about Hairshares:

Share your experiences of donating hair or using donated hair
Participate in Hairshares contests (logo contest coming tomorrow!)
Join the Hairshares Channel on the Whaleshares Discord Server.
Spread the word to your friends and family!


Please heartfully consider donating your hair, your talents or your Steem Power to this worthy cause. Feel free to contact me in the comments, on Twitter or on the Whaleshares Discord.

Sort:  

This is a great project! I have been growing my hair out for about a year for this exact reason. I had a good friend diagnosed with lung cancer last year and he succumbed in March. When he was diagnosed I promised to grow my hair out and donate it. It will be going to wigs for kids. It's finally to my shoulder blades. It's a daily reminder of him as it's always in my face, my daughter got something sticky in it yesterday and it knotted...It's the most positive annoying hassle of any endeaveor I have undertaken in my life.

Oh, and I will be sure to document it when I get it cut. I imagine it will still probably be December through March timeframe... who knows maybe longer. I'm a dude and have no knowledge of these things.

You have pretty hair, Frank. I'm jealous! Every other year that I donate my hair, the ponytail gets thinner and thinner. :(

Thanks, Meredith! I honestly think when I took this picture is the first time I have seen my hair from the back. I had no idea it was wavy or whatever you want to call it.

I didn't know you donated your hair, but it doesn't surprise me at all. You have slowly broken top 100 of my cool people list. Lol. You know you are higher than that, but I can't tell you or your head might get too big and explode....then you wouldn't be able to donate your hair! We don't need a fiasco like that happening.

You are so sweet to say that...and I don't call a lot of people sweet. LOL
I have a feeling I might have to trim my hair by a few inches just to get it healthy again but yeah, lots of hair donated but the ponytails get smaller every time. Damn this old age stuff! LOL

I actually want to shave my head for one cause and donate my hair to another but Pat would uh... have my head if I did that! WHAT! I say. It will grow back. I could rock a wig if I wanted to. I've got my halloween mullet hanging in the closet. LOL

I actually want to shave my head for one cause and donate my hair to another

An old wise bird once told me "it's easier to ask for forgiveness than for permission", lol. I would love to see you rock a mullet wig! It's the #1 hairstyle in the history of man. About 5 years I grew my hair long enough to rock a mullet. I remember going to the hair stylist and telling them "give me a mullet". I swear the whole dang place looked at me like I was a crazy nut. Meh...maybe on days that end in Y.

1989, baby! Rockin' my mullet for the senior photo. LOL

HSmullet.jpg

This made my day. You even have the hoop earrings on! Love Love Love Love it!

I agree so much Lex! That time period when it is not long enough to pull back into a pony tail is horrible. My wife used to use barrettes in my hair to keep it out my face for me. LOL What a look.

Peace,
The Last Sage

What a picture in my head! Sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do.

I know he doesn't have long hair, but the feeling's mutual.

Lol I love it brother! I put up a new post that actually has some pictures of me in it. One of them I have my pony tail. I miss that hair really but it went to a good cause. Check it out if you want to put a face with the sage!

Peace,
The Last Sage

Of course, I will! I was kind of wondering what you looked like!

I'm actually growing my hair out to donate to Locks of Love. This will be my 6th ponytail! The hair gets chopped some time end of August after graduation madness. :)

This is awesome! I've convinced my mother to shave her head with me, even though her hair is too short to donate. :)
I'll post pictures when I'm done!

That's great! Way to get the family involved.

Very nice post @nepd. My daughter has been avidly doing hair donations for the past few years. Everytime she gets it long enough she braids it up and cuts it off. I have always felt this to be such a great cause. I have managed to do this once myself but growing my hair long enough to do it again is an unbearable thought for me. Slow hair growth resulted in it taking 4 years for mine to be long enough. When I cut it off I decided that was probably the last time I would ever endure that crazy amount of time with hair in my face.

Great cause brother and great post.

Peace,
The Last Sage

Thank your daughter for me! And thank you!

We also share some other common ground. We are both Iowegians... kinda scary almost. I did some of my nursing degree at U of I.

Peace,
The Last Sage

You are even more awesome now!

My wife has donated her hair four times.

thank her for me @ats-david - that is awesome!

This is great - resteeming - I unfortunately do not have enough hair to share but I hope lots of people read this and can help.

What a great project in honor of an amazing woman! If I had hair I'd so donate it! Just chopped mine off on Monday. Let me know how I can support you in your task!

Well I get it cut every four weeks so I'd have to superglue or weave all of the tiny pieces together.

This is a great idea. I aprreciate your hardwork helping others improve their quality of life. The world needs more people like you. Upvoted. Followed.

Thanks, appreciate your support.

Great cause but unfortunately I'm far too bald to participate.

Donating is only one small part!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60771.43
ETH 3271.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44