Photos of the trains today and an original song by me!

in #photos6 years ago (edited)

I live near a train yard. I have mixed feelings about that but the trains sure do look cool!

The train yard has about 8 or 10 sets of rails , and this area stretches for a few miles at least. The trains are travelling from the ports on the Pacific coast (about 9 hours by car) and from places like the Bakken oil fields to the east of me. They carry all kinds of things like coal, grain, oil, and sometimes parts of airplanes! I will try and get you some photos of the airplanes sometime! Here are some photos from my walk with my dog today.

Here is a song I made about the trains. Listen for the LOW BOOM in there. Thats what they sound like...

Photo Therapy

One thing I sometimes take for granted is the cool graffiti on the trains. I used to be completely obsessed with it, but now its more like a backdrop that I forget about! Plus, the train yard is so loud, day and night, that I am very grumpy about living so near to it. Lately I have wanted to try and appreciate the trains more for their aesthetic appeal, to help me feel a little more positive about where I live.

Use these for your projects!

I had to take the photos through a chain link fence, so it was hard to capture a whole train car. It was very backlit and my camera didnt like it so they turned out a little washy, so I saturated them a bit before adding to the post. I am making these Creative Commons! Feel free to use them for art , posts, banners, collage, whatever! If you use them please tag me! I wish we could find out the graffiti artists, too, so we could credit them as well :) I would LOVE to see if anyone makes something with these! Thank you!

IMG_20180306_141218261.jpg

IMG_20180306_140954731.jpg

IMG_20180306_141134418.jpg

IMG_20180306_141303590.jpgIMG_20180306_141330927.jpg

IMG_20180306_141424886.jpg

If you like what you saw, please check out my blog to see what else is new!

Art

Poetry, with audio

Art and a poem with audio

Sort:  

some of the best art i have seen, is on the side of freight trains :)

I heard this track played on MSP-Waves last night and absolutely loved it! Your vocals are haunting and beautiful, and you did such a good job of portraying the trains in such a creative and unique way! FABULOUS This has become one of my new favorites! I certainly hope you will produce more songs in the same style! Since this post is too old to upvote, I just send you some SBD; check your wallet! 😊

THANK YOU!! THat made my day! I saw this earlier from my phone but was not logged in so i couldnt comment! Super nice of you, and the encouragement means a lot!!!!

What a great post! The song is awesome, it was a perfect soundtrack while I was looking at the train pics. Got me so inspired I whipped up some Deep Dream-ed versions :) These are creativecommons as well y'all <3

Much love - Carl "Totally Not A Bot" Gnash / @carlgnash



Click the badge to learn more about
Human Certified Original Works

Yessss this is soooooo cooooooooolllllllllllll!!!!!! I love these! This is the kind of thing I hope happens with these photos! :) Thanks for doing it and thanks for sharing here as well!

That is freakin' awesome. I love that synth track. What did you use to produce it?

Garage band. The old garage band that is. And a shitty headset mic.

Nice. Shitty mics can get cool vocal effects sometimes.

You are so so so so creative dflo, it was an AWESOME track.
Do the people put graffiti on the train there? I mean we don't have much of a graffiti culture i back in here, they looks amazing.

Yes @tanishqyeverma they do. It is illegal and they definitely can't do it at this train yard. I am not sure where artists are able to get access to trains to do it. It is a fascinating sub culture of art ... People also illegally ride these trains. But they can be shot or arrested or fall from the train and die so it's not a very safe form of travel... Some of the graffiti is called a tag, and there is a whole other sub culture of hobo tags . The hobo tags are just written in plain white letters . There's one I see all the time that says " Walt was here". I think he was a famous train hopper and people continue a tradition of tagging as if they are him. I happened to have taken a picture of that also today. Wow I do take a lot of my train knowledge for granted haha I will make more posts about it. I would love to see what it is like where you live, too! IMG_20180306_141601336.jpg

Beautiful music! I am near trains too, and they have a beauty/I have mixed feelings about them too with chemicals. Lovely post though and am enjoying that track!

Thank you! Yes I hear them rumbling and rolling right now and it's just so mechanical I would rather hear the sound of nature!

@dflo!! I love this! There's really something about trains that puts me in a "good way" somehow. The metallic spinning and thumping of the train as it wails down the track, the intrigue of "what the heck is on that thing", and also remembering Dad's model train set when I was little.

Love the tunes too! Are you on @dsound yet!?

No but I plan to be I just feel there is a little learning curve and I haven't taken the time to learn. I am creating a podcasty thing with music and poetry and I will put it on dsound when it is done!

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Thank you !! <3

Used to live 5 m from the tracks and 5 m before a station. You get used to it. Better than a motorway. (No cups rattling in the cupboards fortunately.) Love how you are offering up your photos for our projects (of course with credit)Will bear this in mind - I'm all for collaborative and inter-connecting projects!

Wait are you saying no cups rattling in the cupboards from the trains? Or the motorway? My trainyard shakes my entire house. The screws slowly undo themselves. Everything rattles. The bathroom mirror, cups on tables, lamps... These trains "couple"-- -they come to this train yard to connect to other trains etc. When they connect it makes a loud BOOOOOM !!!!! And sometimes that shakes everything real good like a small earthquake, all hours of the day and night. I have lived here more than 5 years and I am sooooooo over it hahaha. To help me cope with being burnt out about it, I plan to make more train art soon , including audio and video because instead of being all grumpy about it and trying to shut them out, I am going to just walk right toward the sounds and experience, and let it get into my art. I have some train art and music from the past, too that I will be posting! :) Here is a song called Trains... hmm maybe I will edit the post and put it in above too, but so that you see it, here it is!

I think the music reflects more what it's like being ON a train!
I just had an intercity slowing to a halt at the station, no heavy clanging. Motorway has continuous background drone PLUS filthy air. There is this great Swiss movie Home (2008 ) in which a highway is being built infront of their solitary house. All goes well (as an extended front garden) until it opens.... . Transportation: the greatest modern invention perhaps (beginning with trains) but also the most insulating of our humanity (ending in road rage).

I mean, i like it but im dissapointed there was no pics of your doge :(

IMG_20180202_145926468.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66188.19
ETH 3564.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14