A painting and a poem

in #artexplosion7 years ago (edited)

This is a watercolor, colored pencil, and pen painting of a hill near my house. Below is a poem. They are both about a sensation of heart-aching desire. It is my entry for ART EXPLOSION 21: DESIRE. I promise in the future I will create new art for this contest but until I change jobs I don't have a lot of time or energy for fresh art! But that is coming soon! Neither of these are anywhere else on Steemit.

About the painting: I thought this bird I saw was an Osprey but i came to learn later it is called a Kite, which is actually so much more fitting with the image I made. The background paper is from this oil and gas surveying paper that i salvaged from somewhere. When I hike up there, I often feel this expansive, pining feeling of desire for a better connection to nature and myself. It has a great view of the city, and the colors are always so pretty: golden grass against blue sky, gorgeous sunsets, ponderosa trees.. birds.. if you look closely you can see more of the pen detail in the bird.. i cant quite seem to get a good photo of it and this painting is too big to scan.

ospreywaterworksheart800.jpg


This poem was written about another hilly area around here. It is a much more forested place, and I used to live up one of the mountains which create this canyon, in a tiny cabin with only a wood stove and no running water.

I recorded myself reading it aloud and reccommend you listen as you read!


Love in Pattee Canyon when I was a Red Headed Witch

What one should do is burn love. Put it in a pellet stove and light the pellet stove on fire with a blow torch and melt the pellet stove. Before that, one should stuff the chimney with pine needles. Before that, one should be wary of water. Before that, one should say goodbye to the house. Before that, one should stand silently in the grass overlooking a deep valley, and pray for the smokestacks below. And spot a moose. And an overturned car. And smile at heartbreak. And take baths in the afternoon while Love goes around town putting kindling in everyone's hands.

Sort:  

@dflo - ROCK ON!! I love the artwork and love the poem as well - keep up the good work and Steem On!!

Happy New Year

Thank you!!!! I am so new here its still a bit scary to start throwing this stuff out there! :) Happy New Year to you , too!

I found you thanks to @juliakponsford. I love kites (the bird) and kites the object as well. Wonderful. I'm glad to have found you and am now following. I am an artist as well. I love Steemit for arts and lit and community, don't you?!

Thank you! Yes i do love it! I am still trying to find everyone though! If you have any faves to reccommend I follow I am all about it! Heading over to see your work :) and follow :)

Great, I'm glad we found one another. I'm still finding many people as well. I really like @reinhard-schmid and @jaro-art and @marty-arts but there are SO many. Have fun finding us all!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dflo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

What a great entry flo! I love the painting the power and your reading of it! Thank you so much for participating!

My favourite line has to be:

And take baths in the afternoon while Love goes around town putting kindling in everyone's hands

You are a very talented artist - never been able to draw a thing here but I can appreciate good art when I see it <3

thank you for your kind words. Its so encouraging to have support. I have not shared my work in a while and its fun to do this here.

Wait? Did you have the idea of making the bird a kite before you knew this type of bird is called a kite? That's amazing!

This post deserves to be 3 posts. One for the painting, one for the poem and one for the story :>)

I did not know it was called a kite until I drew it later, and kept seeing it, and wanted to know what it was. and thank you.. wow i can't believe its been 5 months since I posted this. I really have changed so much since coming here.

Awesome!

You're welcome :>)

I really have changed so much since coming here.

I get you. I started out almost 11 months ago but I really gave it a try from November/ December onwards. So much has happened since them, so many doors have opened.

It's amazing :>)

I really like the concept behind your drawing, it's the old woman's freedom to have more contact with nature. I do not live in a big city and nevertheless, the always being between four walls overwhelms me I love being close to nature, smelling and feeling fresh air, touching plants, seeing sunsets .. For this I have given myself the task of having plants and every time I have more, I would like to get to have my apartment full of plants haha every day to share with them and give me a lot of relief, I recommend it if you feel that you need contact with nature. You can not always go to her but if you can make her come to you <3 Good luck and greetings (;

By the way, I'm also participating in the contest with a little illustration I did, I hope you have the time to stop by my blog and support me too, I'm following your content closely.

https://steemit.com/artexplosion/@winizart/art-explosion-week-21-desire-original-illustration

Thank you! plants are a great idea. I have some but i used to kill them all . for the past 6 months or so I have gotten much better about my plants, and I just got a free Elephant Ear plant that I love a lot! I dont live in a big city either and can thankfully go to nature a lot but sometimes its hard to motivate! i will totally check out your link!

I understand u friend, and I haven't heard about that plants but I'll serch it. And way the way, I recently created a channel in discord in order to meet more artists, support us and share techniques, tips and instructional material among us. You are totally invited if you want to be part of this community, I would be very happy that you join us in this project that is just beginning. https://discord.gg/mym3yGE

@Dflo, this is just so so beautiful. <3

thank you very much, I am glad you liked it.

I really like the texture in the painting.

Hey, random question...

Is there any chance I could use your "Oscsyntheriment" track in episode 2 of this podcast I'm working on? It is about astrology, and it's called What's Up Planets? -- we're still in the beginning stages.

Your track has an ambient/heady vibe that would work really well in the mix, I think. I'd credit you/give you a shoutout at the end :)

If you are interested, will you email it to whatsupplanets{at}gmail? Completely no worries if you aren't. <3

Sent! Exciting! :)

Got it! Thank you! It'll be out on Jan 1 :)

Wow that's beautiful! I love love love the painting my best wishes and luck to you!🌺🌺

Thank you soo much!!!!! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61320.84
ETH 2394.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56