Some moody church photos to test my new lens


Introduction

These were all taken with my new Nikon 16-35mm/4 lens.

There is a beautiful church near where I live and it stopped raining which gave me the opportunity to try out the lens on it.

These are all shot at the 16mm focal length. In some of the shots I have done some mild perspective correction but it is still clear quite how extreme the perspective and distortion can get at such a wide angle.

I deliberately underexposed these and yet there was still some mild blowing out of the highlights in some of the shots. I think the only way to really capture the full dynamic range for something like this is taking multiple bracketed exposures and then stitching them together. I will see if I can go back with my tripod at some point and try it.

Feel free to use these in your own posts if you want as per Steemit4free.


The Photos


1


2


3


4


5


6


7

8

9


10


11


12


13


14


15


16


17


If you like my work and aren't already, please follow me and check out my blog (I mainly discuss photography but I do other topics too) - @thecryptofiend


Camera: Nikon D800 with Nikon 16-35mm/F4 lens.


Photo Credits: All photos are my own unless otherwise stated and free for you to use under the terms of Steemit4free.


(Verification for me here: http://www.aapicture.com/about-me)


Some of my other recent posts


Are You New to Steemit and Finding it Confusing?

These resources may help:

  1. For a Quick FAQ - Try this
  2. To learn about Markdown (to help you post) - Try this
  3. Need to know Steemit Etiquette? - Try this
  4. Need some free images for your posts? Try Steemit4free - make sure to check which images it applies to.
  5. Need to talk to a human for help? - Try the chat
  6. Need Mentorship? - Try Steemprentice - here is a link that explains it, and here is the chat channel.
  7. Need a Free Image Host that works with Steemit? - Try SteemImg - it automatically produces markdown and html links for you, as well creating thumbnails and more.
  8. Need to Buy or Sell Steem/SD? - Try this tutorial for Blocktrades.

(Want to use this list in your own posts? - download the text file formatted in Markdown here.)


Sort:  

Number 1 is probably my favorite, these are awesome :)

Thank you so much my friend. I am trying to get better at these types of shots and hopefully practice will pay off:)

Such a great artist, man! It's a pleasure having your work in my feed.

Thanks that is very kind coming from a true artist like yourself. I am just someone who likes messing around with a camera as a hobby. To be honest before Steemit I only really did portraits and had kind of been put off other types of photography. It is support from people like yourself that has given me the encouragement to go out and try it again.

Those look really cool man. But I may have a thing for black n white photos.

Thanks. Many of us do! I think black and white can be much more powerful than colour:)

It certainly allows for the evoking of emotions that a color image just can not. I look forward to more photos in this style.

Nice. For these, I will personally prefer colours to give me the Harry Potter movie feel. :-)

I might have a go processing some colour versions.

Cool I will try and get some out. I might also try doing a bit more perspective correction if it doesn't ruin the crop too much.

Great job! I think those old stately buildings are just prime real estate for photography. The lighting sets the stage or a kind of a Halloween feel. Excellent work.

Thanks. Yes I love those old buildings. We have so many here.

Very Gothic. It's amazing what black and white can do.

Thanks yes. I love black and white:)

Excellent quality photos and I like your "new to steemit?" help section.

Great job!

Nice shots!
Is there a shot there where the back plane of the camera was exactly vertical? Just wondering about the distortion. Out of curiosity, I took your first picture and put the upward lines vertical. Looong pull at the controls 8-).
I think you will enjoy using this lens.

No I think they were all at a slight angle. I would need to try that when I have my tripod. The other thing is that with old buildings like this they are not very straight anyway. This one also seems to have some subsidence where you can see notable sinking of the ground and shifting of the walls.

These are all very striking. Of course it helps to have such a wonderful subject!

Thank you. Yes it is a beautiful building.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60291.00
ETH 2583.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55