Crossing the Swabian Jura: A two day hike from Ulm to Owen - Part 2, Climbing up the Jura plateausteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago

2-0.jpg

Greetings Steemians!

Welcome to the first leg of my two day hike across the Swabian Jura.

At 8 am in the morning I was ready to tackle the 63 kilometer between my current position at the Ulm Minster and the village Owen, the destination of my hike. In between also the roughly 800 m thick sediment of the former Jurassic ocean, better known as the mountain range Schwäbische Alb.

At the time of my depart the sky was cloudy but according to the forecast, a few hours of sun could be expected later during the day. I was planning to reach the first mountain plateau around lunch time.

And off I went:

2-1.jpg
Starting at the Ulm Minster at km 0,0.

2-2.jpg
Clouds lightened up already while traversing the construction zone around the main station.

2-3.jpg
A skate park in Ulm's outskirts.

2-4.jpg
A withered sunflower field.

2-5.jpg

2-6.jpg
Climbing the first ramp in golden autumn ambience.

2-7.jpg
Reaching the first interim plateau.

2-8.jpg

2-9.jpg
No chance to find all these tracks without my wristwatch's GPS. What a progress over constant fiddling with hiking maps.

2-10.jpg

2-11.jpg

2-12.jpg
All shades of yellow, red and orange. Just beautiful.

2-13.jpg

2-14.jpg

2-15.jpg

2-16.jpg
After 3 hours and about 15 k I finally reached the Jura plateau. Time for a lunch break!

Thanks for watching and 'til the next stage of this tour!

Shaka


Photos recorded by myself with an iPhone 6S.


If anything prevents you from making full use of your VP you can follow my curation trail on Steemauto.

Sort:  

Great photos - I love the skate park.

Thank you! I like the urban style of that skate park, too. There were several more graffities at these columns which also seemed worth to be captured. However, this time I really had to focus on walking rather than photographing.

I know what you mean. I bike and walk every day and sometimes I think this is perfect for a Steemit post, but then I have to stop all the time and often I just decide to bike and take in the beauty with my eyes instead of my camera.

The photos of autumn nature are always so brilliant:) Well deserved lunch after climbing workout;)

The touch of art and the nature is perfect there beautiful experience :)

Beautiful! I'm looking forward to the next part of your tour.

I like how you start in a city and then move to the nature :-)

Posted using Steeve

Thank you! I started from the city center on purpose and it was really worth doing it. I found it quite special how the city ambience diluted from center to residential areas to suburbs and outskirts and how nature gradually took over.

My friend @shaka how are you? This trip was a great idea at this time of year, autumn.
There are many beautiful colors out there in the photographs that you were able to capture, I really like the blue color that the sky has without doubt I think I can only say that it is beautiful and admire the photographs

Thank you!

Wirklich schöne Bilder! :)
bin schon auf die nächste Etappe gespannt.

Danke, das freut mich!

Beautiful photos. You're right about the GPS. Before this incredible invention, half of our time was wasted looking at maps and asking people if we were going in the correct direction.

Thanks for sharing this article.

I do think it is a good skill being able to read a map and I guess, if one goes on a hike in more remote areas one always should have a back up that doesn't rely on batteries being charged.
For this occasion though, having navigation right from my wrist really allowed me to enjoy my surrounding with almost no distraction.

Thanks for stopping by!

15 km in 3 hours on such a track sounds, taking pictures as well sounds very reasonable. Well deserved lunch! I hope you brought something delicious :)

Lovely photos. I like autumn very much and I enjoy seeing photos of such beautiful forests.

Thank you for sharing and have a great weekend!

Thanks for you comment!

I actually aimed for a reasonable pace to really be able enjoying the surrounding rather than making a pure exercise out of it. In total I ended up with a total pace of 4.3 km/hour (including all breaks).

It must have been a nice journey for you dear @shaka. How you traveled? I mean what vehicles you used to travel around this place? BTW you took really beautiful photographs. It is a treat to the eyes to see such beautiful photos.

I was walking ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40