Crossing the Swabian Jura: A two day hike from Ulm to Owen - Part 1, Arriving in UlmsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago

Greetings Steemians!

Last week I had the rare chance of freeing myself from all my everyday obligations and thus had the opportunity to basically disappear for almost 3 days. Quickly, the plan was forged to undertake a hike across the Swabian Jura. From the Donau town Ulm to the Swabian village Owen, with 63 kilometer and 1190 meter total ascent in between. Given my current fitness, an ambitious yet achievable goal for a two-day hike.

The day before I packed all my gear and took the train to Ulm, full-speed into a golden autumn evening:

1-0.jpg
These colors! I hope the weather will stay like this for the coming two days.

1-1.jpg
Opposite me my reliable companion on numerous tours in the last years.

1-2.jpg
After a 2h ride, the Ulm Minster shows up between the trees.

1-3.jpg
Heavy construction works going on at the main station. Can't wait to leave all this noise behind me.

1-4.jpg
Walking towards my accomodation. The Ulm Minster is glowing in the evening sun. I've been several times to Ulm already but this enormous cathedral never fails to impress me. You can gather some more impressions from my previous visit here and here.

1-5.jpg

1-6.jpg

1-7.jpg

1-8.jpg
After an easy evening walk along the Donau it was time to head towards the Hotel. The days are getting noticeably shorter, so tomorrow I better set out early in the morning.

Thanks for watching and 'til the continuation of this tour!

Shaka


Photos recorded by myself with an iPhone 6S.


If anything prevents you from making full use of your VP you can follow my curation trail on Steemauto.

Sort:  

It feels like the Ulm Minster was painted to glow in the afternoon son.

I just realized this is a German city.

Owen kannte ich noch gar nicht. Bei dem Wort Owen denke ich eher an 100 m Läufer. Deine Wanderung war bestimmt nicht ganz so schnell, aber die Strecke dafür wesentlich länger und auch schöner als nur eine Tartan Bahn (oder Aschenbahn).
Interessante "Challenge", wie es so schön neudeutsch heißt, und schöne Bilder obendrein...

Starke Bilder, als wäre man dabei gewesen.
Bin richtig ins schwitzen gekommen, aber das war es Dank der herrlichen Eindrücke wert. 😎

Hihi - spannende Wirkung. Daraus könnte man ja ein mentales Abnehmen bzw. verbesserte Fitness ableiten... ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Im back on Steem and youre back in Germany. 😉
Lovely post as always.

Thank you and welcome back! :)

Sportliches Programm! Kann man 3 freie Tage geiler nutzen als zu so einer Wanderung? Ich bin gespannt auf die folgenden Posts! Wenn das Wetter so geil geblieben ist wie an dem Tag folgen bestimmt noch schöne Bilder.

Fortsetzung folgt in Kürze :) Das Wetter war für das Vorhaben ideal, um das mal vorwegzunehmen. Durchaus auch bewölkt, was mir aber gerade angenehm war.

Hello my friend @shaka how are you? A few days ago I did not pass by here I was busy at work

Although I do not know the place, I have not heard much about the location maybe but I like how the colors of nature look there, there is a lot of yellow and that color of the sky, the last photo looks like a picture I really like those shades of colors in the sky, have a good trip

What a lovely city! The view from the top of Minster have to be fabulous;)

It is indeed, but I haven't had the time to climb the stairs this time.

Friend @shaka in the train in motion you made good shots the truth until now I have not managed to take a good shot when I go in some car in movement is complicated, these beautiful those good shooting shots

I like the place seems fresh and the beautiful colors I hope more of your visit

Sehr schöne Aufnahmen @shaka
Wie führt dich eine Route? Das wäre auch für mich mal eine Idee :-)

Danke! Du meinst, wie ich mich orientiert habe? Ich hab mir den track auf komoot erstellt und dann auf meine GPS-Uhr hochgeladen (Suunto Ambit). Hatte also mein Navi am Handgelenk ;)

Gerne :-)
Ich meinte eigentlich wo du zwischenstopps gemacht hast. Das wir aber bestimmt in den Folgeposts genannt werden :-)
Aber das mit der GPS-Uhr ist eine gute Idee.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12