My European Adventure: Part 12: Walking the Olive Tree Path to Gandria

in #photography5 years ago

Hello Steemians! Welcome back again!

On the last installment we left off right as I began to make my way to the lake side village of Gandria, check it out here: https://steemit.com/photography/@seangold/my-european-adventure-part-11-down-by-the-lake-lugano-switzerland and if this is your first time, welcome and be sure to check out the series from the beginning on my blog!

But now, off to Gandria!

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_57411-HDR-WebExport.jpg

I didn't really have a route planned out or anything, I just figured if I followed the edge of the lake I'd end up there eventually, right? So I began walking, but still on the look out for great views, such as this one of the side of Monte Bre in the mist and clouds!

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_56582-WebExport.jpg

I crossed a small bridge, checked out a small boat club for a few minutes, then back to the main road along the lake. Every so often there would be little rest/viewing areas with beautiful trees, and I lucked out that the foliage was still pretty decent for the time of year I was there.

BURST20181110104948700-WebExport.jpg

After a little bit, I noticed I was out of Lugano proper I would say, now it's just the road, the lake, and some properties every now and again.

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_56602-WebExport.jpg

Mostly following the road, ducking down an alley way or odd street or two, passing by beautiful homes and estates along the way.

IMG_0270-WebExport.jpg

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_56607-WebExport.jpg

Now it got a little weird. I looked at my Google Maps and it's telling me to go down this trail. Well, it is along the lake, so it does make sense so down I go. At the head of the trail, I noticed another water fountain, this time in the shape of a snake head. I love these so much, and also the idea that clean, waste free water is available free to everyone, as I mentioned before I never bought a single bottle of water on this whole trip!

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_56618-WebExport.jpg

Oh, there was also a rock slide warning sign too....so that kept me on my toes a bit as well. I begin down the dirt path alongside the lake. The views were amazing the whole way, especially when it came time to go out around this large rock on the path. I would also learn later, this was part of the Trail of Olives, as there were olive trees all along the way as well as signs explaining the history of them in this region. I love stuff like this.

At one point, there was a small area with a couple buildings and a dock, so I decided to take a quick look.

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_56627-WebExport.jpg

This was the first time I was able to see the top of the mountain across the way, Monte San Salvitore, as it was covered in clouds all day. I also got some great views off the dock as well.

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_56630-WebExport.jpg

I continued down the path towards Gandria, and it really did feel like something out of a story book.

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_56644-WebExport.jpg

Not long after, I would look out to the lake to see one of the ferry boats making its way to Gandria as well. I later learned that it was only about 30 or 40 years ago that they built a road to Gandria, and that before it was accessed primarily by ferry!

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_56636-WebExport.jpg

After a good walk, I finally reach Gandria! I see the beautiful buildings overlooking the waters and the mountains!

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_56657-WebExport.jpg

I then catch a glimpse of the ferry making its trip back to Lugano.

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_56647-WebExport.jpg

From there, I begin to explore the city, and down the main winding alley, I'm greeted by this big beautiful bell tower, right as it began to chime!

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_56653-WebExport.jpg

Such a beautiful little city, winding alleys, colorful doors and buildings, stone paths, and not a tourist in sight!

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_56663-WebExport.jpg

For the sake of time, I'm going to have to leave a few things out of my adventure through the city, and jump to me making it down to the water and the docks!

I figured this was the perfect place to fly my drone, but where could I launch from? The city is all slanted and the alleys too narrow, and there was really no where else, besides the dock. I go out onto the small dock and try to launch. ERROR. What? Compass error? Ahh. The dock is made out of metal, so I can't launch off of it. This is the dock.

BURST20181110121413683-WebExport.jpg

I guess I have to launch from my hand. I don't mind, but I was just nervous being on this small dock and next to the water and hand launching, but I did it, and the views were amazing!! But first, here's a selfie!

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_57362-WebExport.jpg

And then I flew out further into the lake, and the views looking back were just incredible!

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_57379-WebExport.jpg

I was a bit nervous still with my tiny landing platform and not really able to get a good view of the drone, so I began to fly back with the hope of finding a better spot to fly from after.

I roamed a bit more and ended up on the other end of the town, and there I could see some more amazing mountains up the lake from there! Incredible!

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_56678-WebExport.jpg

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_56681-WebExport.jpg

And again, of course, a selfie!

BURST20181110123417553-WebExport.jpg

After that, I found a great little spot to launch from again! Not much bigger than the dock, but still better, so to the sky I took once again!

First, I looked back at the city and the view was just amazing, here's a few of my favorites!

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_57404-WebExport.jpg

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_57411-HDR-WebExport.jpg

Wow! From there, I flew down and looked back up from the other end of the city.

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_57377-WebExport.jpg

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_57388-WebExport.jpg

From there, I decided to get a few more shots of these amazing mountains north of me and then call it a flight.

Sean_Gold_November 10, 2018_57419-WebExport.jpg

BURST20181110125741212-WebExport.jpg

After landing, I explored this area a bit more and then decided it was time to make my way back towards Lugano and my next adventure! But that is where we'll leave this installment for now and pick up here on the next one!

I hope you enjoyed this installment! Let me know what you think, what your favorite photos were, anything you'd like, in the comments below!

And in the meantime, don't forget to follow along with me on Instagram! or check out my Website! for more of my work and to purchase prints to support my work! Thanks!

  • Sean Gold
Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=seangold
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-european-adventure-part-12-walking-the-olive-tree-path-to-gandria


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post is supported by @tipU upvote :)
@tipU voting service: instant upvotes + profit sharing tokens | For investors.

Sneaky-Ninja-Throwing-Coin 125px.jpg
Defended (71.43%)
Summoned by @seangold
Sneaky Ninja supports @youarehope and @tarc with a percentage of all bids.
Everything You Need To Know About Sneaky Ninja


woosh

@seangold purchased a 34.20% vote from @promobot on this post.

*If you disagree with the reward or content of this post you can purchase a reversal of this vote by using our curation interface http://promovotes.com

Congratulations @seangold! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hiya, LivingUkTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our in Daily Travel Digest 512.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47