Kelvin-Helmholtz clouds near the Croatian coast

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

I am still brewing on some new post ideas, but until then let me share this picture I took a few years ago. I saw these weird clouds on a road trip through the geographical region of the Balkans in Europe. I was quick enough to capture these wave-like clouds because after a few minutes they already dissipated. At first I didn't think too much about it. Air is also just a fluïdum like water so it was nothing more that a funny encounter when I saw a cloud shaped like waves. It was only when I recently stumbled across an article related to it that I looked at this picture again

Apparently this is something called the Kelvin-Helmholtz instability. A relatively common occurrence when there is a velocity difference across the surface between two moving fluids. They can occur practically anywhere but only when a cloud is on the right time at the right place, the instability gets clearly visible. Not only can this occur in the atmosphere, the instability has also been observed in the earth's magnetic field for example.

Simulation of the magnetic bubble around earth as solar wind flows by. Credits to S. Kavosi, J. Raeder and UNH. Found at nasa.gov/...

After browsing the many pictures in existence of clouds with the phenomenon my photo did not look that impressive anymore, but I'm still happy I got to see it. From now on I'll probably always have one eye on the sky for some strange phenomenon

Hopefully you liked this small intermezzo. As already mentioned I have some fun new posts in my mind and I hope I will soon find the time to work on them.

Thanks for reading and stay curious!

Sort:  

I love hanging out with people who know weather phenomena. Clouds do the weirdest things and every time the explanation is super interesting. I remember when my little brother did clouds in school and jut hit me with random knowledge here and there (size, weight, whatever). What a funny time it was :P

Weather-people are the best! Now you can hit your (maybe not little anymore) little brother with some random wisdom if you would happen to come across clouds like this ☁️

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=samve
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=kelvin-helmholtz-clouds


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @samve! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 60 posts. Your next target is to reach 70 posts.
You made more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hi @samve!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.567 which ranks you at #15305 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 57 places in the last three days (old rank 15248).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 229 contributions, your post is ranked at #203.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76