How to photograph small animals, tips and recommendations.

in #photography6 years ago

Sometimes it's enough to just explore the spaces closest to us...

DSC00826.jpg

How about steemians, happy start to the week for everyone, I'm going out of my way today, For those of you who already have time to follow my blog, you know that every Monday I start the week with a new parkour video, which I've been moving from youtube to the Dtube platform, I'm going to change that, as it makes it easier for me to share the videos on Wednesdays, so by that day I'll be uploading the next one, I apologize to those of you who have been waiting.

DSC00806.jpg

Today I'm sharing with you some pictures I took on the beach on a trip I took recently, I ran into these little friends, which caught my attention, it wasn't easy to catch them because they're so elusive, They don't like to be disturbed, so today we're going to talk a little bit about how to photograph animals, I'll take these crabs as an example, which served me very well in practice.

Since I won't go into technical details about the camera, here I leave you in link to a post I wrote some time ago about macro photography, in which you will find very useful information, especially if you want to portray animals as small as these.

  • How to do macro photography, tips and recommendations:

https://steemit.com/photography/@samuel-film/como-hacer-fotografia-macro-consejos-y-recomendaciones

DSC00809.jpg

One of the most important things when photographing animals is patience, remember that we are not dealing with people and our presence alone is uncomfortable for them, even if they are in their natural habitat, If you're not patient, this is not your field of photography.

Remember to give your space to the animal, If you go after them, you'll only get to photograph them from behind, We're just spectators, We mustn't interfere in their way in the slightest, it avoids making them nervous, only in this way will we achieve more natural animal behaviour.

DSC00815.jpg

But how do we avoid chasing the animal, or how do we go unnoticed?

Very easy, we must use telephoto lenses and tripods, wildlife photography does not stand out for being economical... We must therefore be aware that if we want to achieve good results, we must invest in good telephoto lenses and tripods.

Telephoto lenses are very useful for placing us at a safe distance, in which we can portray the animals without them noticing our presence, but one of its major disadvantages is its great weight, this means that we must have a good tripod to give stability to our photo, because when working over long distances, the slightest movement affects the stability of our lens, so you know, time to take out that ultra heavy old tripod we have stashed away.

DSC00830.jpg

The closer the better.

I recommend that you get as close to the animal as possible, to a point where they know he's not watching them or not bothering them, so they leave the rest of the work to the telephoto lens, this is done in order to avoid using it at its maximum focal length, because as mentioned above, the further away the lens is, the greater the lens vibration will be.

He's trying to camouflage you.

Sometimes it's not enough to just keep a safe distance, Animals are smarter than most people think, It took me some work to capture these friends, the slightest move he made, he'd send them running to their hiding places, so it is good to look at the environment and take advantage of it in our favour to camouflage ourselves, This way you can even get them to come to you.

DSC00817.jpg

Know their habits.

Another point to take into account is the habits of animals, If you know how to interact with them, you will have a great advantage when photographing them, since you can anticipate their movements, know their customs, which places they frequent, the time when they do it, whether they are alone or accompanied, among many others, Have fun playing detective, you'll find it more interesting to photograph them when you get to know them better.

Finally, the autofocus.

One of the things we need to be very careful about is our ability to focus quickly, because in nature nothing happens twice, every moment is unique, so many wildlife photographers tend to work in automatic mode, since everything can happen in a matter of seconds, few situations in which it is worthwhile to shoot in the wild with manual focus, burst mode shots are very useful in these situations, do not hesitate to use it, as long as you have a quick write memory, so that your camera doesn't take too long to process all the pictures you take.

DSC00821.jpg

I hope these tips will help you, I don't want to leave without telling you that you don't have to go to exotic places to photograph animals, sometimes it's enough to just go to a park nearby, or just look around your house, you can get a lot of surprises...

TuneaTaringa.blogpot.com (18).png

If you like the world of photography and videos, want to learn or just get inspired for a while, you can see more of my work in instagram or follow me on my blog, where I share my experiences and tips, for those who love photography.

BANNER.png

Soon I will be uploading more content, remember that every week I upload a new video to my Dtube channel, be careful, there are surprises coming, I'm starting a new project with my partner that I hope you like, see you soon, thanks for reading the post, if you liked it please upvote, comment that you liked it and share it with your friends!

Upvote-Logo.png

The images or videos that I use in my blog are made by me and I own all the rights of them, of which in the majority I use my personal logo to identify them, to make use of some image or video foreign to me, always I limit the source of the same one.
This post is the English translation of my previous publication, it's all content is my authority, I apologize for the translation errors, I'm not good with English.

Link to my previous posts, in English

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-22T15:15:12
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 322.80/400.00
Total Photos: 41
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.34 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

PLEASE CHECK THE UPDATED USER GUIDE
Released on: May 14th

As a friendly reminder, the current upvote fee is $0.12 SBD ($0.121 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.36+ SBD.

Join our 10 SP Challenge!!!

Simply click this link to delegate 10 SP Now!

Or delegate any of these other amounts and make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65355.17
ETH 2949.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67