Lily Twin Star, Haiku [Lilies Robbed of Heat] and Monochrome Monday Digitial Art, @old-guy-photos

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Lily Twin Star

lilies robbed of heat
two buds share the same shoot
twin stars explode

(5/6/4)

IMG_6171 (2).jpg

Alternative Version

lilies robbed of heat
two buds sharing the same shoot
twins stars detonate

5/7/5

Colored Shot


IMG_6171 10.39.18 AM.jpg

The original had an obvious problem. A smudged lens, but turned monochrome and edited some, it was perfect for the creation of the Lily Twin Star faux-telescope photo. Happy accidents abound.

Photo & haiku, copyright Pryde Foltz

Sort:  

serendipity, for sure, but most of life is :)

Agreed. Thank you, John:)

I love lilies. Nice combination :)

Thank you, Margaret:)

Actually pretty cool edit!

Thanks Paul:)

Explode seems like a better word. :D
I noticed you refollow me. I hope I wasn't posting too much.
I used Steepshot a lot as it's faster. It's not as good as writing a blog as there seems to be a wide audience if you add a lot more text. I should go back to normal blogging when things settle down around here.

Thanks, Shane. No worries. I was clearing out some old follows from months ago. People I haven't heard from. I think I only unfollowed you for a second or two. It was only in error. Not to worry. It was only an accidental click. I think as far as what you post goes ... post what you like doing most:):):)

Thanks. I thought it might have been something like that. I hope things are going well where you are.

Love both versions, of photograph and haiku, but being more of a traditionalist regarding haiku, the second is my favorite.

No favorite photo, they both rock!
Smudged lenses occasionally lead to really interesting results. ;-)

Thank you, Crescendo:)

The 5/7/5 really shouldn't be considered the 'traditional' way. Most haiku scholars would say that 5/7/5 is too long to be considered haiku. I think of 5/7/5 as the most popular 'convention' for haiku. Alas, it is what is taught in high school by non-haiku folks and as such it has come to be considered some kind of rule ... which it is not. Haiku is most readily recognized by its link to nature, pivot, and the ability to be spoken in 'one-breath'. Brevity is more important than a syllable beat structure.

Sorry for the pedantry but it is a pet-peeve of mine. I am haiku-nerd:)

I go less by haiku scholars and more by the many Japanese neighbors I had as a kid in Los Angeles.

Many of them were seriously into 5-7-5, but I agree, it is not and never has been a hard and fast rule.

I personally like the rhythm of it, but I've been known to change it up from time to time. ;-)

Oh, but, in my opinion, the haiku saved it. I love the color version, but, it certainly is interesting in Black and White.

I know! I live in color, but, occasionally I slide to the mono life.

Tip!

Called to the monochrome world by @old-guy-photos, for sure:)Thank you, Denise:):):)

Brilliant haiku… maybe even your best ever.

Really ... you think that. Thanks, Denise:)

You’re welcome. As impressed as I’ve always been by your skills in haiku, these two really sing for me.

Lovely as always @prydefoltz! 😊🌸

Thank so much, Denise:) You are a treasure:)

The very beautiful structure of your blog, I like the size and content, of course. The monochrome lily twin star.

Thank you, Blue. Learning to right/left align was a good move on my part:)

Of course, we are here to learn and after we learn...we are happy! I wrote a blog that I dedicated to you and @dswigle, because I know you are poets and lovers of poetry. That's what it is, if you want to read it. "Beautiful Day, Long Day of Sunday (second addition) - Eminescu's Linden Tree!!"

Hi @prydefoltz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64153.02
ETH 3205.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63