You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lily Twin Star, Haiku [Lilies Robbed of Heat] and Monochrome Monday Digitial Art, @old-guy-photos

Love both versions, of photograph and haiku, but being more of a traditionalist regarding haiku, the second is my favorite.

No favorite photo, they both rock!
Smudged lenses occasionally lead to really interesting results. ;-)

Sort:  

Thank you, Crescendo:)

The 5/7/5 really shouldn't be considered the 'traditional' way. Most haiku scholars would say that 5/7/5 is too long to be considered haiku. I think of 5/7/5 as the most popular 'convention' for haiku. Alas, it is what is taught in high school by non-haiku folks and as such it has come to be considered some kind of rule ... which it is not. Haiku is most readily recognized by its link to nature, pivot, and the ability to be spoken in 'one-breath'. Brevity is more important than a syllable beat structure.

Sorry for the pedantry but it is a pet-peeve of mine. I am haiku-nerd:)

I go less by haiku scholars and more by the many Japanese neighbors I had as a kid in Los Angeles.

Many of them were seriously into 5-7-5, but I agree, it is not and never has been a hard and fast rule.

I personally like the rhythm of it, but I've been known to change it up from time to time. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64074.25
ETH 3195.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62