Pittock Mansion (Photography)

in #photography7 years ago

If you ever come to Portland I encourage you to give yourself half a day (at least) to explore the trails of Washington Park. This specific picture holds a great deal of meaning to me personally, which I'll share below.
I took the same picture roughly 10 times using different apertures, and without any other post production layered them over each other.

A lifelong friend of mine had recently passed, and I realized this specific evening was going to be a restless night almost the second I tried to lay down. I decided to take a walk.
It was habit for me to take my camera and tri-pod with me when I went just about anywhere and this night was no exception. Despite being January, the weather was warm that night. I'd guess it was 60 degrees or so.
I wandered around the trails for a few hours without much concern for getting lost, I know the trails well enough and the occasional glimpses of Portland's skyline help orient you pretty regularly, but it was still an accident that I ended up at the Pittock Mansion that night.
I said some goodbye's during the walk and despite being a fairly pragmatic person who doesn't put much faith in things I can't see, I just had a feeling that I wasn't alone on that walk. When I got to the mansion, a place I'd visited many times with that friend, a place we said we'd get married if we ever got old and bored of not being married, the feeling of being with her magnified.
A warm wind and mist started blowing around the time I walked out of the woods into the clearing, it was like the weather itself was gently crying with me. I didn't even need to take my coat out of my backpack, there was no coldness to it.
This bench sits facing the front door, it wasn't a place that holds any specific memory of her, just a place we'd sat and talked, a place I wished we could sit and talk again. It was the only picture I took that night. Maybe it was just grief and my need to reach beyond reason for closure, but I felt like she was saying goodbye.

Sort:  

Congratulations @pdx! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @pdx! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @pdx! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61399.54
ETH 3383.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50